Alstrom named to 2010 NSIC Hall of Fame class
Tuesday, July 13, 2010
Alstrom named to 2010 NSIC Hall of Fame class
ST. PAUL, Minn. -- On Wednesday, July 14, Bemidji State University graduate Susan Alstrom will join seven others being honored as the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) holds its 2010 Hall of Fame induction ceremony in conjunction with its 11th annual summer kickoff. The event will take place at 7 p.m. at the Best Western Kelly Inn in St. Cloud, Minn.

Alstrom attended Bemidji State University from 1972-76 before graduating cum laude with a degree in physical education and a minor in biology. During her time at BSU, Alstrom was a three-sport athlete competing in basketball, track and field and field hockey.
On the basketball court, Alstrom was a team captain and selected for all-conference honors in 1974 and 1975. In 1974-75, Alstrom played a key role on a Bemidji State team captured the conference championship.

On the track, Alstrom was the state champion in the indoor and outdoor shot put in both 1973 and 1974, while earning all-conference accolades. In 1973, 1974 and 1975 she earned the state discus titles and in 1974 she was the conference and state javelin champion. Alstrom was a member of Bemidji State’s 1973 and 1974 state championship teams and its 1973 and 1975 conference title teams.

A three-year all-conference selection in field hockey, Alstrom and the Beavers won state and conference titles in each of her four years of participation. The 1975 team qualified for the national championships and Alstrom was then invited to try out for the United State National Team.
Following her career at Bemidji State, Alstrom served as President of the Minnesota State Girls Association; coached volleyball, softball and track at Buffalo Lake-Hector High School.

A member of the Buffalo Lake-Hector High School staff since 1976, Alstrom loves to travel. She has set foot on all seven continents with treks that include climbing two of the seven summits of Mount Kilimanjaro and Aconcagua, scuba diving on the Great Barrier Reef and teaching Physical Education in Africa, just to name a few.  In addition, she has completed nearly 20 marathons.

She is very active in numerous community, state and national sports and human service organizations which included Special Olympics and the Bemidji State University Foundation.

Alstrom was inducted into the Bemidji State and Minnesota Volleyball Coaches Hall of Fame in 1998 and was named one of Bemidji State’s Top 30 Athletes as a part of its 30th Anniversary of women’s athletics in 2000.

Founded in 1986, the Northern Intercollegiate Conference (NIC, former men’s conference) Hall of Fame was established to recognize and honor those who made significant contributions to the conference, to create favorable publicity and public relations for the league and to help preserve the history of the NIC, its member institutions, student-athletes, and other significant individuals affiliated with the league.  After the induction of the 2010 class, the NSIC Hall of Fame will boasts 142 members and one team.

Each NSIC school (who has been a member for at least ten years or more) is asked to submit one candidate for induction into the Hall.  Each of the selectees are derived from individuals who have been affiliated with the NSIC, NIC, NSC and their member institutions.

In order to be eligible for the NSIC Hall of Fame, candidates must have made contributions in the following areas:
1) former student-athletes, 2) administrator/coach, 3) official/supervisor/coordinator, 4) contributor/supporter, and 5) team. Other worthy candidates that do not fall into the above categories are also considered.  The conference provides two plaques, one of which will go to the inductee and one to the institution represented.  A history of each inductee will be kept in the league office and each institution will prominently display the plaques of their respective NSIC Hall of Fame inductees.

In addition to Alstrom, the NSIC induction class of 2010 includes: Denise (Holm) Olson, University of Minnesota Duluth; Manny Beckman, Minnesota State University, Mankato; Elise (Olsgaard) Erickson, Minnesota State University Moorhead; Stephanie (Hengel) Popelar, Northern State University; Dan Hagen, St. Cloud State University; Scott Dubbelde, Southwest Minnesota State University and Elisabeth (Morgan) Shannon, Winona State University.   

Alstrom is the 19th former BSU student-athlete or coach to be inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame. She follows: Lee Ahlbrecht (2009); Irv St. John (2008); Marc Hamren (2007); Betsy McDowell (2006); Robert Dettmer (2005); Robert Huber (2004); Ruth Howe (2003); Robert Whelan (2002); Sherry Hill, Bob Montebello, Patricia Rosenbrock (2001); Chester Anderson, Marjory Beck, Victor Weber (2000); Walter Kruger, Norman Nelson (1990); Arnie Johnson, Don Palm and James Witham (1986).

Portions of this release courtesy of NSIC