Seven Bemidji State student-athletes tabbed for NSIC Myles Brand Award
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Seven Bemidji State student-athletes tabbed for NSIC Myles Brand Award

BURNSVILLE, Minn. -- Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Commissioner Erin Lind has that seven Bemidji State University student-athletes have been selected as recipients of the seventh annual NSIC Myles Brand All-Academic with Distinction Award.

The award, named in honor of the late NCAA President Dr. Myles Brand, is bestowed to senior NSIC student-athletes who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.75 or higher, are exhausting their eligibility and are on track to graduate.

A total of 133 student-athletes from the NSIC's 16 institutions will receive the award in its seventh year.

Bemidji State NSIC Myles Brand Award Recipients





Nicole Anderson

Track and Field

Becker, Minn.

Elementary Education

Nathan Heisick


Plymouth, Minn.

Business Administration

Ashley Kiecker


Hector, Minn.

Art and Design

Chloe Miller

Track and Field

Baxter, Minn.

Exercise Science

Emily Olson


Stillwater, Minn.

Mass Communication

Anthony Peterson


Frederic, Wis.

Exercise Science

Shaylin Prout


Thunder Bay, Ont.

Exercise Science

The NSIC is a 16-team, 17-sport, NCAA Division II conference with member institutions located in Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).