Thelen and Tompkins named 2018 NSIC Honor Student-Athletes

Thelen and Tompkins named 2018 NSIC Honor Student-Athletes
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Thelen and Tompkins named 2018 NSIC Honor Student-Athletes

BURNSVILLE, Minn. -- The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference has announced Bemidji State University’s Raquel Thelen and Evan Tompkins to its list of 2018 Honor Student-Athlete and scholarship award winners.

As a part of the announcement, the league also named Northern State University’s Miranda Ristau as its 2018 Willis R. Kelly Scholar-Athlete Award for Academic Excellence and Carter McCauley of Winona State University as the recipient of the 2018 Dr. William Britton Scholar-Athlete Award for Academic Excellence.

Thelen, a two-time First-Team All-NSIC selection and 2016 Second Team All-NSCAA was a three-time Academic All-NSIC pick for the BSU soccer team. She played and started all 20 games for BSU and totaled 1,304 minutes. The team captain led BSU with 42 corner kicks and recorded five goals, five assists and 15 points. Thelen took 18 shots resulting in 10 shots on goal with a .556 shot on goal percentage. She ranked fifth in the NSIC with four game-winning goals and 12th in assists.

In 72 career matches, Thelen totaled 25 assists, 15 goals and a .628 shot on goal percentage. Thelen, an accounting major, was also awarded the NSIC Myles Brand All-Academic with Distinction Award this winter.

Tompkins, a CoSIDA Academic All-America First Team selection, played in all 11 of Beaver Football’s games in 2017 with 20 solo and 21 assisted tackles. He nabbed three interceptions and recovered one fumble to finish his senior season. Tompkins is just one of three Beaver Football student-athletes ever to be named to the CoSIDA Academic All-America First Team.

In 44 career games, Tompkins finished with 100 total tackles, 12 passes defended, 10.5 tackles for a loss and eight interceptions. Tompkins, a three-time member of the Academic All-NSIC Team, is a pre-law major.

The 16 NSIC member institutions nominate one male and one female student-athlete for the Britton and Kelly Awards. The nominees must meet the following criteria: a grade point average of 3.20 or better (on a 4.0 scale); evidence of academic excellence beyond the minimum grade point average (scholarship prizes and other academic recognition), evidence of participation in the life of the institution, and evidence of participation in at least two-thirds of the varsity events of the individual’s primary sport. The award is voted on by the NSIC Faculty Athletic Representatives.

The Britton Award was created in 1985 in honor of Dr. William Britton, a longtime faculty representative at Bemidji State. The Kelly Award is named in honor of Willis R. Kelly, an associate professor of physical education at the University of Minnesota, Morris. A member of the NSIC Hall of Fame, Kelly also coordinated the Minnesota-Morris Physical Education Department from 1970-87. She became the first director of women’s intercollegiate athletics at Minnesota-Morris in 1976 and was later promoted to athletic director for the whole department.

The 32 student-athletes nominated for the awards will be honored as NSIC Male and Female Honor Student-Athletes of the Year at their respective institutions. McCauley and Ristau will be recognized and presented with a $2,500 post-graduate scholarship July 10 at the 2018 NSIC Hall of Fame Banquet at the Best Western Premier in Burnsville, Minn.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletics programs, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).