No. 1 Winona State earns 76-60 victory over BSU in 2006-07 regular season finale
Saturday, February 24, 2007
WINONA, Minn. (McGown Gymnasium) -- The No. 1-ranked Winona State University men's basketball team completed a perfect 2006-07 regular season with a 76-60 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference victory over Bemidji State University Saturday at McGown Gymnasium in Winona, Minn.

The Warriors used a 20-8 run mid-way through the first half to separate themselves from BSU and would not look back as the repeat NSIC Champion moved to 27-0 overall and 18-0 in NSIC play. The team has now won 48 straight contests dating back to a 84-79 loss to Bemidji State Jan. 7, 2006.

The Beavers were led by Alex Smith (Jr., F, Miami, Fla.) who posted team-highs of 12 points and seven rebounds. Senior Dan Sowu (G, Chicago, Ill.) scored 11 on an efficient 4-of-6 from the field, 2-of-2 from beyond the arc and hit his only free-throw attempt. Marques Ramos (Jr., G/F, Henderson, Nev.) and Seth Haake (Fr., G, Eden Prairie, Minn.) each added nine points.

Zack Malvik paced a quartet of WSU players in double-figures with a game-high 20 points. Jon Smith added 12 points and grabbed a game-high eight rebounds.

The Beavers held a 40-35 rebounding edge, out scored WSU 28-22 in the paint and recorded 12 second-chance points to the Warriors' nine.

Despite a 10-minute span during the first half, BSU played right with the Warriors.

Thanks largely to solid shooting performances from Haake and Smith, who recorded seven and eight points respectively in the second half, BSU was 14-of-28 from the field and 5-of-8 from downtown during the final 20 minutes to match WSU with 37 points in the final frame.

Winona State now holds a 76-66 all-time lead in the all-time series between the teams.

Although the NSIC slate has not been completed due to weather-related power outages in Fayette, Iowa, the seventh place Beavers (5-22; 5-13 NSIC) know exactly where their post season will begin. Wednesday, the team will travel to Marshall, Minn. to battle No. 2 seed Southwest Minnesota State. Tip off is slated for 7 p.m. at the R/A Facility.