NSIC announcement of 2014 Hall of Fame class includes BSU's David Lee
Thursday, June 5, 2014
NSIC announcement of 2014 Hall of Fame class includes BSU's David Lee

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – David Lee, a four-time all-conference performer and the Bemidji State University men’s basketball program’s all-time leading scorer, was today announced as a member of the 2014 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Hall of Fame class. The conference office will induct the eight-person 2014 Hall of Fame class during a ceremony July 9 at the Best Western Kelly Inn/St. Cloud as a part of the NSIC’s 15th annual Summer Kickoff event.

Lee, a 2013 Bemidji State Athletics Hall of Fame inductee, was a four-year starter for the Beavers from 1984-88. The West Aurora, Illinois native exited Bemidji State as the program’s all-time leading scorer with 2,034 points, a record which still stands today. Lee was named All-Northern Intercollegiate Conference First Team three times and was listed on the honorable mention team as a freshman. Lee was also a member of two national tournament participant teams, which included a 1984-85 squad that earned the program’s first playoff victory. He earned NIC All-Tournament Team and NIC Tournament MVP honors in 1985-86. Lee was named All-District 13 at the conclusion of the 1985-86 season were he scored 535 points to rank eighth on BSU’s single-season scoring list. As a senior in 1987-88, Lee recorded 596 points to sit fourth on the school’s list.

Lee registered 854 points in 48 NIC games and remains among the top 30 players in the history of the league in points scored, while his 18.6 points per game in league play rank him 10th all time.

Lee still holds several career records. His 807 field goals made ranks atop the BSU all-time annals and no other BSU player has made more free throws than Lee's 364. Lee also ranks second on BSU's career assists list with 314. In addition, his career free throw shooting percentage of 77.3 percent is tops among BSU players with at least 250 made. Lee also holds the single-season record for three-point percentage, hitting 54 percent (42-of-78) in 1987-88.

After graduating from BSU with a physical education degree and a health minor, David was an assistant coach at Rockford College in Rockford, Ill., for former teammate and fellow BSU Athletic Hall of Famer Tim Buckley. He then went on to become a physical education teacher and girls’ basketball coach at Hayward High School in Hayward, Wisconsin. As a coach, he guided the Hurricanes to a 358-129 (73.5%) record, won seven Heart O’ North Conference championships and 10 regional championships. He twice coached in the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association All-Star Tournament. Lee continues to teach physical education at Hayward High School.

Lee and his wife Ronda have three daughters, Morgan (22), Tatum (21) and Ricki (19). Morgan and Tatum both played basketball for Bemidji State and Ricki is a member of the track and field team at Minnesota State University, Mankato. Morgan Lee finished her career as a two-time All-NSIC Second Team member (2011-12 and 2013-14), second all-time at BSU in 3-pointers made (214) and seventh all-time in scoring (1,380).

A social hour for the July 9 Summer Kickoff ceremony will begin at 6:30 p.m., followed by the program at 7 p.m. The general public can reserve tickets for the banquet by visiting www.NorthernSun.org/SummerKickoff and completing the online Hall of Fame Banquet Registration Form. Registration is due by June 27, as space is limited for the event.

The class of 2014 includes: Lee, Bemidji State; Lisa (Harfield) Borowitz, Concordia University, St. Paul; Scott "Honey Bear" Hanna, University of Minnesota Duluth; Dale Robley, Minnesota State University Moorhead; Jason Landmark, Northern State University; Lillie Brown, Southwest Minnesota State University; Mike Rybak, St. Cloud State University and John Martin, Winona State University.

Lee will be the 24th former BSU student-athlete or coach to be inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame. He follows: Elizabeth “Liz” Mulvihill (2013); Don Niskanen (2012); Trip Hedrick (2011); Susan Alstrom (2010); Lee Ahlbrecht (2009); Irv St. John (2008); Marc Hamren (2007); Betsy McDowell (2006); Robert Dettmer (2005); Robert Huber (2004); Ruth Howe (2003); Robert Whelan (2002); Sherry Hill, Bob Montebello, Patricia Rosenbrock (2001); Chester Anderson, Marjory Beck, Victor Weber (2000); Walter Kruger, Norman Nelson (1990); Arnie Johnson, Don Palm and James Witham (1986).

Founded in 1986, the Northern Intercollegiate Conference (NIC - the former men's conference) Hall of Fame was established to recognize and honor those who made significant contributions to the conference, to create favorable publicity and public relations for the league and to help preserve the history of the NIC, its member institutions, student-athletes and other significant individuals affiliated with the league. For the first two inductions (1986 and 1990) each selection hailed from the NIC. In 1992-93, the Northern Sun Conference (NSC - the former women's conference) and the NIC merged creating the current Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC). The NSIC Hall of Fame now boasts 173 members and one team.

Each NSIC school (which has been a league member for at least ten years or more) is asked to submit one candidate for induction into the Hall. Each of the selectees is derived from individuals who have been affiliated with the NSIC, NIC, NSC and their member institutions.

In order to be eligible for the NSIC Hall of Fame, candidates must have made their contributions in the following areas: 1) former student-athletes, 2) administrator/coach, 3) official/supervisor/coordinator, 4) contributor/supporter, and 5) team. The conference provides two plaques, one of which will go to the inductee and one to the institution represented. A history of each inductee will be kept in the league office and each institution will prominently display the plaques of their respective NSIC Hall of Fame inductees.

For more information on the Bemidji State men’s basketball program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUHoops or @BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/Bemidji-State-Basketball or facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Mulitmedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).