Beavers Basketball to begin practice for 2015-16 season tomorrow
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Beavers Basketball to begin practice for 2015-16 season tomorrow

BEMIDJI, Minn. -- The first games of the Bemidji State University men’s and women’s basketball seasons begin in less than one month. With the coming of the 2015-16 season, both teams begin official practices tomorrow in the BSU Gymnasium.

Beavers Men’s Basketball Head Coach Mike Boschee and the men’s team begin practice at 1 p.m. while finishing at 3 p.m. Beavers Women’s Basketball Head Coach Chelsea DeVille, in her first season with the program, and the women’s team practice from 5-7:30 p.m.

Boschee, in his fourth season with the Beavers, enters 2015-16 with a 44-40 record at BSU and 32-34 mark in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference. The Bemidji State men’s team finished the 2014-15 season 8-19 overall and 4-18 in the NSIC.

DeVille becomes the 10th all-time head coach in the women’s program history after serving on the University of Sioux Falls women’s basketball coaching staff for five seasons. The BSU women’s team finished 2014-15 6-22 overall and 3-19 in the NSIC. Sophomore center Sierra Senske returns after finishing among the top 10 scorers in the NSIC with 14.6 points per game last season.

The Bemidji State men’s team tips off its opening weekend at home Nov. 13 and 14 against Northland College and Crown College, respectively. The BSU women’s team begins its season with two exhibition games at home Oct. 31 and Nov. 1 against Lakehead University, followed by the regular-season opener at home Nov. 14 against Crown College.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).