Four commit to Beavers Men's Basketball during early signing period

Four commit to Beavers Men's Basketball during early signing period
Friday, November 11, 2016
Four commit to Beavers Men's Basketball during early signing period

BEMIDJI, Minn. -- With the early-signing period beginning today, Bemidji State University head men’s basketball coach Mike Boschee announced that four student-athletes have committed to the program. The Beavers’ 2017-18 recruit class features two forwards, one post and one guard.

Adam Anhold, Kade Hart, Mike Shepski and Derek Thompson will enroll at Bemidji State next year and join the program beginning with the 2017-18 season. All signees are contingent upon admission to BSU and compliance with NCAA rules, including certification by the NCAA Eligibility Center.

“We are very excited and thankful to be bringing in these four talented players to Beaver Basketball,” Boschee said. “They all have different strengths that will add a great deal to the players we already have in the program. They all have shown a strong work ethic and discipline it takes to be successful for the years ahead. It’s a great day for Beaver Basketball.”

Adam Anhold, a 6-foot-9-inch post from Janesville, Wis., comes from Craig High School as a letter winner in basketball. He averaged 13.7 points and seven rebounds as a junior for the Cougars, while being named All-Big 8 Conference Third Team.

Anhold is the son of Len and Cari Anhold and plans to enroll in exercise science at BSU.

Kaden Hart, a 6-9 forward from Faribault, Minn., is a letter winner in basketball and football at Faribault High School. He is a three-time All-Big 9 Conference selection and one-time captain in basketball. Hart averaged 16 points and nine rebounds per game as a junior. He was also a two-time captain and one-time All-Conference selection in football.

Hart is the son of Michael and Connie Hart. He is an “A” honor roll student and is undecided on his major at BSU.

Mike Shepski, a 6-0 guard from Lockport, Ill., earned four varsity letters in basketball at Brother Rice High School. He was named All-Chicago Catholic League in 2015 and 2016. Shepski converted 77 3-pointers on his way to averaging 16 points per game as a junior.

Shepski is the son of Steve and Dee Shepski, and intends to study business administration at BSU. His father played baseball for North Central College and his brother, Jake, plays baseball for the University of Notre Dame. Shepski is a four-time honor roll student at BRHS.

Derek Thompson, a 6-8 forward from Cold Spring, Minn., is a letter winner in basketball, football and track at Rocori High School. He averaged 16 points and nine rebounds per game as a junior and was selected Team MVP twice. Thompson earned All-Area and All-Central Lakes Conference honors. He helped RHS to the section championship during his sophomore and junior seasons. Thompson also led the Spartans football team to the state tournament three consecutive seasons while playing quarterback.

Thompson is the son of Richard and Melanie Thompson. He plans to major in social studies education. Thompson is an honor roll student and is also a member of the National Honor Society.

Bemidji State opens up the regular season at 5:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 11 at Wisconsin Dells, Wis., against Lindenwood University. The Beavers face the Lions before the second game of the weekend Saturday, Nov. 12 against University of Central Missouri. BSU opened the 2016-17 with two exhibition games against Division I opponents University of Northern Iowa and University of Minnesota.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).