WCHA selects 21 Bemidji State student-athletes for Scholar Athlete Award
Thursday, February 10, 2011
WCHA selects 21 Bemidji State student-athletes for Scholar Athlete Award
MADISON, Wis. -- The Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) today announced recipients of its sixth annual WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award. Student-athletes from Bemidji State University comprised 21 of the 90 recipients in 2010-11.

With 21 student-athletes recognized, BSU not only set the pace for all member institutions, none of its WCHA counterparts received more than 12 selections.

The prestigious WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award was developed through Association member Faculty Representatives and approved by the conference membership beginning with the 2005-06 season.

To earn recognition as a WCHA Scholar-Athlete, conference-member student-athletes must have completed at least one year of residency at their present institution prior to the current academic year and must also have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the previous two semesters or three quarters, or may qualify if his or her overall GPA is at least 3.50 for all terms at his or her present institution.

Annie Bauerfeld** (Sr., F, Woodbury, Minn.) and Erin Cody** (Sr., F, Roseville, Minn.), who are both three-time WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award selections, headline a contingent of six repeat recipients. Bemidji State’s 10 picks was tops among the eight WCHA institutions that make up the women’s league. 

Other BSU players joining Bauerfeld and Cody as 2010-11 WCHA Scholar Athletes are: Molly Arola (So., F, Walker, Minn.);  Emily Erickson* (So., F, Coleraine, Minn.); Sadie Lundquist (So., F, Cloquet, Minn.); Alana McElhinney* (Jr., G, Calgary, Alberta); Zuzana Tomcikova (Jr., G, Bratislava, Slovakia); Montana Vichorek* (Jr., D, Moose Lake, Minn.); Marlee Wheelhouse* (Jr., D, Crookston, Minn.) and Abby Williams (So., F, Alexandria, Minn.).

The Bemidji State men’s team built a culture of excellence in the classroom as members of College Hockey America (CHA) and that tradition continues in the team’s first season in the WCHA.  Eleven members of the team’s 26-man roster were selected as recipients of the 2010-11 award nearly doubling the total of any other Association institution.  Ryan Adams (Sr., D, Deloraine, Manitoba) and Emil Billberg (Sr., F, Stockholm, Sweden) represent BSU’s senior class on the list of recipients and are joined by: Jake Areshenko (So., D, Port Coquitlam, British Columbia); Dan Bakala (Jr., G, Calgary, Alberta); Mathieu Dugas (So., G, L’Assomption, Quebec); Darcy Findlay (Jr., F, Bristol, Quebec); Drew Fisher (Jr., F, International Falls, Minn.); Jamie MacQueen (Jr., F, London, Ontario); Aaron McLeod (So., F, Ottawa, Ontario); Brance Orban (So., F, Lethbridge, Alberta) and Brady Wacker (So., D, Jansen, Saskatchewan).

This season’s group of WCHA Scholar-Athletes will receive a commemorative plaque and will be recognized publicly at an upcoming home game.


*Indicates repeat honoree