WCHA tabs 24 Bemidji State student-athletes as Scholar Athletes
Wednesday, February 15, 2012
WCHA tabs 24 Bemidji State student-athletes as Scholar Athletes
MADISON, Wis. --  The Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) today announced recipients of its seventh annual WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award. Student-athletes from Bemidji State University comprised 24 of the league-record 110 recipients in 2011-12.

“This announcement has become one of the real highlights for the Western Collegiate Hockey Association each season as it focuses attention on a truly exceptional group of student-athletes,” said WCHA Commissioner Bruce McLeod. “These outstanding young men and women have gone above and beyond to achieve great success both on and off the ice and their accomplishments are a testimony to the amount of dedication and hard work they put in throughout the school year. Together, they represent their teams and their league in a most impressive way and we could not be more proud of each and every one of them. On behalf of the entire WCHA, We wish them all the success in the world.”

The prestigious WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award was developed through Association member Faculty Representatives and approved by the conference membership beginning with the 2005-06 season.

To earn recognition as a WCHA Scholar-Athlete, conference-member student-athletes must have completed at least one year of residency at their present institution prior to the current academic year and must also have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the previous two semesters or three quarters, or may qualify if his or her overall GPA is at least 3.50 for all terms at his or her present institution.

With 10 student-athletes recognized, BSU tied for second most, among all member institutions, trailing only St. Cloud State University and Minnesota State University. Mankato, which each garnered 15 awards.

Alana McElhinney***
(Sr., G, Calgary, Alberta), Montana Vichorek*** (Sr., D, Moose Lake, Minn.) and Marlee Wheelhouse*** (Sr., D, Crookston, Minn.), who are each three-time WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award selections, headline a contingent of 15 repeat recipients for BSU.

BSU players recognized as 2011-12 WCHA Scholar Athletes are: Jake Areshenko** (Jr., D, Port Coquitlam, British Columbia); Molly Arola** (Jr., F, Walker, Minn.); Dan Bakala** (Sr., G, Calgary, Alberta); Kyle Brodie (So., D, Northglenn, Colo.); Allie Duellman (So., D, Maplewood, Minn.); Emily Erickson** (Jr., F, Coleraine, Minn.); Darcy Findlay** (Sr., F, Bristol, Quebec); Drew Fisher** (Sr., F, International Falls, Minn.); Brad Hunt (Sr., D, Ridge Meadows, British Columbia); Jeff Jubinville (So., Edmonton, Alberta); Garrett Ladd (So., F, Fenton, Mich.); Sadie Lundquist** (Jr., F, Cloquet, Minn.); Jamie MacQueen** (Sr., F, St. Thomas, Ontario); Alana McElhinney*** (Sr., G, Calgary, Alberta); Aaron McLeod (Jr., F, Ottawa, Ontario); Brance Orban** (Jr., F, Lethbridge, Alberta); Zuzana Tomcikova** (Sr., G, Bratislava, Slovakia); Montana Vichorek*** (Sr., D, Moose Lake, Minn.); Brady Wacker** (Jr., D, Jansen, Saskatchewan); Erika Wheelhouse (Jr., D, Crookston, Minn.); Marlee Wheelhouse*** (Sr., D, Crookston, Minn.); Abby Williams** (Jr., F, Alexandria, Minn.); Danielle Williams (So., D,/F, Waconia, Minn.) and Lauren Williams (Sr., F, Eagan, Minn.).

With 12 women earning the prestigious honor, BSU paced the eight-team league.

The Bemidji State men’s team built a culture of excellence in the classroom as members of College Hockey America (CHA) and that tradition continues in the team’s second season in the WCHA.  Twelve members of the team’s 26-man roster were selected as recipients of the 2011-12 award nearly doubling the recipient total of any other WCHA-member team.

This season’s group of WCHA Scholar-Athletes will receive a commemorative plaque and will be recognized publicly.


*Indicates repeat honoree