Beavers host U.S. Under-18 Team for second exhibition
Friday, October 12, 2012
Beavers host U.S. Under-18 Team for second exhibition

BEMIDJI, Minn. -- The Bemidji State University men's ice hockey team continues exhibition play this weekend when it hosts the United States Under-18 Team. Opening faceoff is set for 7:07 p.m. Saturday at Sanford Center.

Just six days after its season-opening, 3-3, exhibition versus University of Manitoba and eight days in to practice, the Beavers will again hit the ice at Sanford Center as they continue to prepare for the 2012-13 regular season opener.

Bemidji State and the U.S. Under-18 team have met on five previous occasions, with the Beavers holding a 4-1-0 advantage in the series.  The last time came Feb. 27-28, 2009. The Beavers took game one of the two-game set 3-1 before netting a 6-3 victory to sweep the series. Senior Ben Kinne (F, St. Paul, Minn.), collected a pair of assists in the series and remains as the only current BSU player to have logged time versus the National Development Team.

The National Development program features the best young hockey talent the United States has to offer. When the U.S. Under-18 made its last trip to Bemidji in 2009 its roster features players such as Jason Zucker, Drew Shore and Adam Murray.

Tickets for the game are still available.  The price for adult tickets is $20, while children's tickets are $15. Tickets can be purchased at the Sanford Center Ford Pickup Window, at any Ticketmaster Outlet location, such as Lueken's Village Foods , or

Season tickets are still available for the 2012-13 season.  Call Jake Bluhm (218) 755-2827 for more information.

For more information on the Bemidji State men's ice hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUMHockey or @BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).