Bemidji State to host Military Appreciation Weekend Nov. 15-16
Tuesday, November 12, 2013
Bemidji State to host Military Appreciation Weekend Nov. 15-16

BEMIDJI, Minn. -- In an effort to honor the brave men and women defending the United States of America and the freedom we enjoy, Bemidji State University Athletics will host Military Appreciation Weekend Nov. 15-16.

Bemidji State and Sanford Center welcome all current and former members of the Armed Forces to join them for a special weekend of tributes and men’s ice hockey as the Beavers host University of Alaska-Anchorage for a Western Collegiate Hockey Association series. The two-game set is scheduled to get underway at 7:37 p.m. Friday with the opening faceoff for the series finale set for 7:07 p.m. Saturday.

Current and former military men and women who buy a ticket to the series and show a valid military ID at the Sanford Center Bob Lowth Ford Pickup Window, will receive a ticket of equal value free of charge.

All branches of the Armed Forces are eligible, including: Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, Coast Guard and National Guard retired and active duty members.

The Sanford Center Ford Pickup Window is located at 1111 Event Center Drive NE in Bemidji, Minn. Monday though Friday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Saturday during events. Tickets can also be purchased at any Ticketmaster outlet, including Lueken’s Village Foods locally, online at or by calling Ticketmaster at 1-800-745-3000. The Military Appreciation promotion is available ONLY at the Sanford Center Ford Pickup Window.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).