Eleven Beavers honored as 2014-15 WCHA Scholar-Athletes
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Eleven Beavers honored as 2014-15 WCHA Scholar-Athletes

EDINA, Minn. -- The Western Collegiate Hockey Association today announced 87 student-athletes as recipients of the league's 10th annual WCHA Scholar-Athlete Awards. Student-athletes from Bemidji State University comprised 11 of the league's 2014-15 contingent.

“On behalf of the entire Western Collegiate Hockey Association family, we extend our sincere congratulations to all of our men’s and women’s WCHA Scholar-Athletes for 2014-15,” said Dr. Eisler, Dr. Hudson and WCHA Commissioners Bill Robertson and Aaron Kemp in a joint statement. “While the WCHA is proud to be among the most tradition-rich, historic and successful conferences in all of college athletics, our utmost priority will always be to providing the very best experience for our student-athletes – both on and off the ice.

“We are thrilled to publicly recognize the wonderful academic accomplishments of these outstanding young men and women. To compete at the highest collegiate level in your chosen sport, while also maintaining exemplary academic standards, takes tremendous commitment, effort and dedication. Our Scholar-Athlete Award recipients are a true testament to the mission of the WCHA and its member institutions. We commend and applaud each and every one of them.”

The prestigious WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award was developed through Association member faculty representatives and approved by the conference membership beginning with the 2005-06 season.

To earn recognition as a WCHA Scholar-Athlete, conference-member student-athletes must have completed at least one year of residency at their present institution prior to the current academic year and must also have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the previous two semesters or three quarters, or may qualify if his or her overall GPA is at least 3.50 for all terms at his or her present institution.

Over the 10 years of the award, there have now been more than 830 WCHA Scholar-Athlete honorees representing every men's and women's conference-member institution. Forty-seven (47) of this season's 87 recipients are repeat honorees, with 13 of those now being three-time honorees and one, being a four-time recipient.

BSU players recognized as 2014-15 WCHA Scholar-Athletes are: Kristine Grenier (Sr., F, St. Leon, Manitoba); Brendan Harms (So., F, Steinbach, Manitoba); Madison Hutchinson (So., D, Manitou, Manitoba); Megan Lushanko (Jr., F, Chisago City, Minn.); Graeme McCormack (Jr., D, Thunder Bay, Ontario); Lauren Miller (So., F, Brockville, Ontario); Reid Mimmack** (So., G, Brainerd, Minn.); Hanna Moher** (Jr., F, Milton, Ontario); Brittni Mowat (So., G, Glenboro, Manitoba); Matt Prapavessis*** (Sr., D, Oakville, Ontario); Whitney Wivoda*** (Jr., F, Fairbanks, Alaska). (** indicates two-time recipient,
*** indicates three-time recipient)

For more information on the Bemidji State athletics programs, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).
Portions of the release courtesy of WCHA.com