Armour selected as WCHA Rookie of the Week

Armour selected as WCHA Rookie of the Week
Monday, December 17, 2018
Armour selected as WCHA Rookie of the Week

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Bemidji State University center Ross Armour has been selected for a Western Collegiate Hockey Association weekly honor for his role in Beavers’ WCHA series split with the University of Alaska Anchorage, Dec. 14-15. The freshman was named Rookie of the Week.

Armour posted a career-high three points to help lead the Beavers to a 5-1 series-opening victory over the Seawolves. He became the second BSU player this season to post three helpers in a game, which included an assist on the game-winning goal. He more than doubled his rookie point total to five (5a) and finished the weekend with three shot son goal and a +3 plus/minus rating.

This marks the fourth weekly honor for the Beavers this season. Armour follows Charlie Combs, the Co-Offensive Player of the Week Dec. 10, Zach Driscoll, who was selected as the Goaltender of the Week and Owen Sillinger who also garnered Rookie of the Week honors Nov. 26.

In addition to Armour, the league selected Bowling Green State University’s Lukas Craggs Offensive Player of the Week, Philip Beaulieu, of Northern Michigan University, Defenseman of the Week and the University of Alabama-Huntsville’s Mark Sinclair earned the WCHA’s Goaltender of the Week honor.

The Beavers dip to 8-8-2 overall and 6-5-1-0 in WCHA play. BSU will now break for the holidays and return to action with a Dec. 29-30 road trip to Colorado Springs, Colo. to battle the Air Force Academy in non-conference action. Opening faceoff is set for 8 p.m. (CST) Saturday and 6 p.m. (CST) Sunday. The trip begins a four-game road swing that will include a WCHA series at Bowling Green, January 3-4.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.