Crawford named a recipient of inaugural Butch Raymond Scholarship
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Crawford named a recipient of inaugural Butch Raymond Scholarship

BURNSVILLE, Minn. -- The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Wednesday announced Bemidji State University senior Kelsi Crawford as one of 16 recipients of the inaugural Butch Raymond Scholarship. The $5,000 scholarship is sponsored by Sanford Health and is given to one student-athlete from each of the NSIC’s 16 member institutions.

Crawford, an outside hitter for the BSU volleyball team, is a two-time Academic All-NSIC selection. The Wadena, Minnesota native, saw time in 40 sets as a junior. She tallied 44 kills, which included eight-kill performances versus Upper Iowa University and Winona State University to close out the season. She finished the 2013 season tied for fourth on the team with six solo blocks.

During her collegiate career she has accumulated 403 kills (1.82 k/s) and 34 blocks (0.2 b/s) in 222 sets played.

Crawford is a nursing major.

The scholarship is in recognition of Raymond, Commissioner of the NSIC from 2004 to 2014. During his tenure, Raymond led the NSIC from an eight-team league to a 16-team super conference, which has won 13 team national championships, while achieving a high level of academic success.

"The NSIC has been an integral part of my life and it has been a very wonderful experience working here," said Raymond. “I want to thank Sanford Health and the NSIC for this honor. It definitely means a great deal to me and my family.”

"Sanford Health has a long history of investing in education, and this seemed to be the perfect way to invest in the outstanding student-athletes, who represent the schools of the NSIC," said Kelby Krabbenhoft, President and CEO of Sanford Health. "It seems right and appropriate that Butch Raymond's name be attached to a scholarship, recognizing his efforts in making the NSIC one of the best Division ll conferences in the country.

“Congratulations, Butch, and thank you for your exceptional contributions and service to education, athletics and the NSIC."

To be eligible for the scholarship the applicant must reach senior academic status n 2014-15, have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.2, be participating in intercollegiate athletics and have plans to work in a health-related field or attend graduate school in a health-related field.


2014-15 Butch Raymond Scholarship Recipients




Kayla Mescher

Augustana College

Women's Track and Field

Kelsi Crawford

Bemidji State University


Anika Whiting

Concordia University, St. Paul

Women's Basketball

Barbara Bakh

University of Mary

Women's Soccer

Ashley Martell

University of Minnesota Crookston

Women's Basketball

Jacob Harder

University of Minnesota Duluth

Men's Basketball

Ashley Olson

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Women's Basketball

Susan Kitzman

Minnesota State University Moorhead

Women's Swimming & Diving

Allison Windish

Minot State University

Women's Cross Country/ Track and Field

Morgan Richardson

Northern State University


Tavia Rutherford

University of Sioux Falls

Women's Golf

Autumn Hayes

Southwest Minnesota State University

Women's Soccer

Emily McIntire

St. Cloud State University

Women's Swimming & Diving

Kaitlyn Emanuel

Upper Iowa University

Women's Soccer

Jordan Spencer

Wayne State College

Women's Basketball

Laura Zeamer

Winona State University


The NSIC is a 16-team, 18-sport, NCAA Division II conference with teams located in Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota.

For more information on Bemidji State athletic programs, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).


Portions of this release courtesy of the NSIC