Beavers fall to No. 4 Mustangs in regular season finale

November 11, 20171st2nd3rdFinal
Bemidji State1213150
SW Minnesota State2525253
.165Hitting Pct..541
79Total Attacks85
Schroeder - 7
KillsReiss - 11
Burmeister - 11
Leach - 21
AssistsLarson - 42
Auer - 1
Hallmann - 1
Cronin - 1
AcesBurmeister - 2
Potter - 2
Hallmann - 11
DigsLarson - 8
Potter - 8
Filipiak - 4
BlocksSmith - 3
Beavers fall to No. 4 Mustangs in regular season finale
Saturday, November 11, 2017
Beavers fall to No. 4 Mustangs in regular season finale

MARSHALL, Minn. – The Bemidji State University volleyball team fell to No. 4 Southwest Minnesota State University 3-0 (12-25, 13-25, 15-25) Saturday afternoon to close out the regular season. The Beavers finish the 2017 season 3-26 (0-20 NSIC) while the Mustangs improve to 25-3 (17-3 NSIC).

Freshman Becky Schroeder led the Beavers by recording seven kills on 22 attacks while Julie Touchett and Maddie Filipiak added five kills each. Junior Sami Leach coordinated the Beavers attack and finished with 21 assists in the match.

Sophomore Emma Hallmann led the Beavers’ defense with 11 of the team’s 21 digs in the match while Kelli Auer added six. Filipiak led the team with four blocks while Schroeder added two.

The Beavers hit .165 as a team in the match and were led by Touchett (.556) and Filipiak (.447).

Bemidji State officially closes out the 2017 season with the loss, finishing 16th in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference standings and failing to qualify for the NSIC Volleyball Tournament.

For more information on the Bemidji State volleyball program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeaversVB), like them on Facebook ( and Volleyball Facebook) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).