Matzke named to All-Tournament Team
Saturday, November 22, 2008

ST. PAUL, Minn. - Bemidji State University senior Heidi Matzke (Red Lake Falls, Minn.) was named to the 2008 Wildwood Lodge Tip-Off Classic All-Tournament Team, which was announced Saturday evening in St. Paul, Minn.

Matzke led the Beavers as she averaged 23.5 points shooting 16-of-34 (.471) from the field, 4-of-8 (.500) from the three-point arc and 11-of-13 (.846) from the charity stripe in two games at the Wildwood Tip-Off Classic. She also averaged 2.0 rebound, 3.0 assists, 1.0 blocks and .5 steals in 35.5 minutes per game.

The Red Lake Falls, Minn. native garnered 21 points on 7-of-16 from the floor and 6-of-7 from the free-throw line in a 87-73 loss to the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse in game one of the Wildwood Tip-Off classic and then led the Beavers to their first win of the season over Metro State with a 26 point performance. Matzke was 9-of-18 from the field, 3-of-5 from behind the arc and 5-of-6 from the free-throw line in the win.

With her 47 point weekend, Matzke moved into the 12th spot on BSU’s all-time scoring list with 1,013 as she became the 14th Beaver to score 1,000 points in a career in the win over Metro State.

Bemidji State ended the tournament with a 1-1 record as they lost to the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse 87-73 in the first game of the Wildwood Tip-Off Classic and then upended Metro State College, 62-60 in the final game of the weekend. The Beavers fell to 0-1 all-time versus UW-La Crosse and 1-2 versus Metro State.

Bemidji State will be back in action on Tuesday, Nov. 25 when the Beavers host Mayville State University in their 2008-09 home opener. Game time is set for 7:00 p.m. from the BSU Gymnasium.

Bemidji State University, located in Bemidji, Minn., is an NCAA Division II institution and a member of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).


2008 Wildwood Lodge Tip-Off Class All-Tournament Team
MVP - Mackenzie Hunter, UW-LaCrosse
Zoraa Quoie, Concordia University
Jamie Jones, Concordia University
Megan Sinclair, Metro State
Heidi Matzke, Bemidji State