NSIC Coaches' Poll slots Beaver Women's Basketball 14th overall, 6th in North

NSIC Coaches' Poll slots Beaver Women's Basketball 14th overall, 6th in North
Wednesday, October 25, 2017
NSIC Coaches' Poll slots Beaver Women's Basketball 14th overall, 6th in North

BURNSVILLE, Minn. -- The 2017-18 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference head coaches have selected the Bemidji State University women’s basketball program 14th overall and sixth in the North Division as the NSIC Preseason Coaches’ Poll was released today. Senior center Sierra Senske was picked as BSU’s Player to Watch after becoming the 20th member of the 1,000-point club as a Beaver.

NSIC North Division programs Minnesota State University Moorhead and Northern State University were chosen to finish atop the conference, as MSU Moorhead received 213 points overall and 10 first-place votes and Northern State received 209 points and four first-place votes. NSIC South Division programs Augustana University and Wayne State College were picked to finish behind the NSIC North duo, with Augustana coming in third with 200 points and two first-place votes and Wayne State fourth with 182 points.

Bemidji State was selected to finish ahead of Upper Iowa University and Minot State University in the annual coaches’ poll with 43 points. While chosen to finish behind University of Minnesota Crookston in the overall poll, the Beavers were picked to finish ahead of the Golden Eagles and the Beavers of Minot State in the NSIC North Division poll. MSU Moorhead, with 47 points and five first-place votes, was the North Division favorite, followed by Northern State with 45 points and three first-place votes.

Senior forward Drew Sannes from MSU Moorhead was selected as the NSIC North Division Preseason Player of the Year while senior forward Paige Ballinger from Wayne State was chosen as the NSIC South Division Preseason Player of the Year.

NSIC coaches rank each team from one to 15 with a first place vote receiving 15 points, second place 14, third place 13, etc. Coaches do not rank their own team or vote for their own players.

Sierra Senske, a senior from Dilworth, Minn., was selected as BSU’s Player to Watch after leading the returners with 12.0 points per game last season. She pulled down a team-high 6.0 rebounds per game and shot 46.2 percent from the field. Senske became the 20th Beaver to join the 1,000-point club last season on Feb. 10 at MSU Moorhead.

The Beavers finished the 2016-17 season 7-20 overall and 4-18 in the NSIC. Bemidji State returns eight letter winners from a season ago while bringing in six true freshmen.

Head Coach Chelsea DeVille enters her third season with the program while totaling a 14-40 record with the Beavers.

Bemidji State begins the 2017-18 season Saturday, Nov. 11 with a home matchup against Valley City State University at 4 p.m. The Beavers and Vikings will face each other for the second time in the last three seasons from BSU Gymnasium.

Overall Points North Division Points
1. MSU Moorhead (10) 213 1. MSU Moorhead (5) 47
2. Northern State (4) 209 2. Northern State (3) 45
3. Augustana (2) 200 3. University of Mary 34
4. Wayne State 182 4. Minnesota Duluth 32
5. Winona State 152 5. St. Cloud State 26
6. Concordia-St. Paul 140 6. Bemidji State 15
7. Minnesota State 132 7. Minnesota Crookston 13
8. Minnesota Duluth 126 8. Minot State 12
9. University of Mary 125 South Division Points
10. Sioux Falls 123 1. Augustana (5) 47
11. St. Cloud State 91 2. Wayne State (3) 44
12. Southwest Minn. State 58 3. Winona State 33
13. Minnesota Crookston 51 4. Concordia-St. Paul 29
14. Bemidji State 43 4. Minnesota State 29
15. Upper Iowa 39 6. Sioux Falls 20
16. Minot State 36 7. Southwest Minn. State 14
first place votes in ()   8. Upper Iowa 8

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).