Beavers host Team USA in 7-0 loss
Saturday, September 27, 2008
BEMIDJI, Minn. - The American national team came into John Glas Fieldhouse and proved why it has a great chance to win gold in the 2010 Olympics, defeating the Bemidji State women’s ice hockey team 7-0 Saturday afternoon.

The Beavers skated with the best players in the country and gave their best effort in falling to those classy players donning the red, white and blue.

Team USA dressed six forwards, and all but one notched a point in the contest. The national team was led by Natalie Darwitz, who scored the opening goal just 1:42 into the contest.

Erica McKenzie and Jessica Koizumi also notched first-period goals, and Team USA skated into the first intermission with a 3-0 lead.

Bemidji State held Team USA to just 12 shots in the opening frame, but was only able to manage one.

Jenny Potter scored 11:38 into the second period, and Lisa Chesson got on the board with a marker at the 18:25 mark.

Caitlin Cahow lit the lamp for the lone power-play goal for Team USA in the second minute of the third period, and Koizumi scored her second goal of the game with less than four minutes remaining to wrap up the scoring.

Bemidji State was outshot 53-8, but held Team USA to just 1-for-6 on the power play. The Beavers went 0-for-4 on the man-advantage, but did manage four shots on their power play opportunities.

Zuzana Tomcikova (Fr., Bratislava, Slovakia) got the start in between the pipes for BSU. She played 30:58, saving 19 shots and allowing three goals. Alana McElhinney (Fr., Calgary, Alberta) came on in relief duty, playing the final 29:02. She saved 27 shots and allowed four goals.

Emily Erickson (Fr., Coleraine, Minn.) led the way for Bemidji State, as she was the lone Beaver to attempt multiple shots. Kaylee Keys (Fr., St. Paul, Minn.), younger sister of national team member Erin Keys, took 15 faceoffs and had a blocked shot.

BSU will get its 2008-09 season underway next weekend (Oct. 3-4) when the team travels to Wayne State (Mich.) for two games set for 7 p.m. and 2 p.m., respectively.