Mowat named WCHA Defensive Player of the Week
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Mowat named WCHA Defensive Player of the Week

EDINA, Minn. – Bemidji State University goaltender Brittni Mowat has been named the WCHA Women’s Defensive Player of the Week after leading the Beavers to a five-point weekend at No. 1 University Minnesota Oct. 31-Nov. 1.

Mowat made 83 saves and allowed just one goal in two starts as the Beavers took five of six points against No. 1 Minnesota. Mowat made 47 saves in a 2-2 tie Friday and then made three saves in four opportunities to help seal a 2-1 shootout victory for the Beavers. Mowat’s 1-0 shutout, which was her second of the season, Saturday was the first time Minnesota has been shutout since 2011. In addition, Mowat also backstopped BSU’s penalty killing unit that held the Minnesota’s power-play unit to 1-for-6 in the series. Mowat posted a .976 save percentage and 0.96 goals against average against the Golden Gophers. The Glenboro, Manitoba native is 3-2-1 this season with an 1.81 goals against average and .943 save percentage. 

Mowat is the second BSU player to earn a WCHA weekly honor since Ivana Bilic also won the league’s Defensive Player of the Week Oct. 1, 2014. This is the second time Mowat has earned the league’s defensive player of the week with the first coming Nov. 13, 2013.  

Bemidji State (5-4-1 overall, 1-4-1 WCHA) is idle this weekend before returning to action Nov. 14-15 against University of North Dakota. The puck drops at 2:07 p.m. both days from the Sanford Center.

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers or @BSUWHockey), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).