Bemidji State travels to Minnesota Duluth for the WCHA playoffs
Sunday, February 22, 2015
Bemidji State travels to Minnesota Duluth for the WCHA playoffs

BEMIDJI, Minn. — After finishing its regular season 18-15-1 overall and 13-14-1 in Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) play, the Bemidji State University women’s hockey team has earned the No. 5 seed for the first round of the WCHA Playoffs and will travel to Duluth, Minn. to take on the No. 4 seed University of Minnesota Duluth Feb. 27-March 1 in a best-of three series.

The other first round series will include: Minnesota State at Minnesota, St. Cloud State at Wisconsin and Ohio State at North Dakota. The winners of each best-of-three series will earn a spot in the 2015 WCHA Final Faceoff, which will take place March 6-7 at Ralph Engelstad Arena in Grand Forks, N.D.

The game times for the series between the Beavers and the Bulldogs are scheduled for 2:07 p.m. Friday, 1:07 p.m. Saturday and 2:07 p.m. Sunday if necessary.

Tickets can be purchased through the UMD Ticket Office at (218)726-8595 Monday-Friday 9am-4pm or at the DECC Ticket Office in advance, day of the game at Amsoil Arena or via (DECC/Amsoil Arena Box Office does charge and additional $2.00 Facility Fee per ticket)

This will be just third time the Beavers and Bulldogs have matched up in the postseason and the first since the 2011 WCHA Final Faceoff. The two teams split the season series 2-2-0 with each team winning in the other’s home building once.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).