Women’s Hockey announces 2016-17 team captains

Women’s Hockey announces 2016-17 team captains
Monday, April 18, 2016
Women’s Hockey announces 2016-17 team captains

BEMIDJI, Minn. – Bemidji State University women’s hockey head coach Jim Scanlan announced that senior Madison Hutchinson will serve as the team captain for the 2016-17 season. Hutchinson will captain the Beaver squad with assistant captains Carley Esse, Lauren Miller and Brittni Mowat.

“All four will provide outstanding leadership for our group both on and off the ice,” said Scanlan. “Not only are they all excellent hockey players, they are even better people. They will be tremendous mentors for our younger players and will be great ambassadors for our program.”

Hutchinson has played in 109 career games at BSU and finished third in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association last season with 70 blocked shots. The Manitou, Manitoba native is a two-time WCHA Scholar Athlete as well as Academic All-WCHA team member. The blueliner finished eighth on the team with 13 points (3g-10a) last season and 37 points (5g-32a) in her career. Hutchinson’s 37 points ranks seventh all-time for points by a defenseman at Bemidji State.

Carley Esse has appeared in 102 career games for the green and white and is one of four blueliners returning for the 2016-17 season that started all 36 games last season. The Cloquet, Minn., native was a WCHA Scholar Athlete for the first time in her career last season and is a two-time Academic All-WCHA team member. Esse blocked 23 shots last season and recorded one assist. She has played in 75 consecutive games for the Beavers and hasn’t missed a game since Feb. 28, 2014 of her freshman season.

Lauren Miller returns for her senior season and is the second leading scorer returning from the 2015-16 season. Miller posted a career-high 16 points last season (8g-8a) and has appeared in 107 career games at Bemidji State. The Brockville, Ontario native is a two-time WCHA Scholar Athlete and Academic All-WCHA team member. Miller’s eight goals last season finished tied for second on the team and led all BSU forwards in blocked shots with 34. She has 20 career goals for the green and white with 16 assists.

Brittni Mowat will serve as one of three assistant captains after garnering All-WCHA Second Team honors last season and set a program record with 22 wins. The Glenboro, Manitoba native is a two-time WCHA Scholar Athlete and Academic All-WCHA team member and was selected to the CCM/AHCA All-American First Team in 2014-15. Mowat holds the career wins record at BSU with 51 wins and currently holds the career records for goals against average (1.93) and save percentage (.934).

The 2016-17 Beaver women’s hockey season marks the 17th campaign in the program’s history. In 2015-16, head coach Jim Scanlan led the Beavers to a program-record 22 victories, a program-record 17 conference wins and their first-ever 20-win regular season.

For more information on the Bemidji State hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).