Bemidji State Women’s Hockey unveils 2017-18 schedule

Bemidji State Women’s Hockey unveils 2017-18 schedule
Thursday, June 8, 2017
Bemidji State Women’s Hockey unveils 2017-18 schedule

BEMIDJI, Minn. – In conjunction with the Western Collegiate Hockey Association the Bemidji State University Women’s Hockey team has announced its 2017-18 schedule. The Beavers welcome the Korean National Team to Sanford Center for an exhibition game Sept. 20 and officially open their 34-game schedule with a home series versus Syracuse University, Sept. 29-30.

The Beavers will play a total of nine home series at Sanford Center throughout the season and travel for eight road series. BSU’s 24-game WCHA slate will fill the majority of its 2017-18 schedule, while it will mix in seven non-conference matchups featuring a head-to-head battle with University of Minnesota Duluth in the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame game in Cambridge, Minn.

After welcoming Syracuse for the season opener, the Beavers begin the toughest month of the new season by facing four of the top five ranked teams in the final 2016-17 Division I national poll. BSU begins October by travelling to defending national champions Clarkson University for a non-conference road series against the Golden Knights, October 6-7. The Beavers then open WCHA play the following weekend by hosting University of Minnesota, Oct. 13-14, followed by a road series at University of Wisconsin, Oct. 20-21, and then close out the month at home against Minnesota Duluth, Oct. 27-28.

The Beavers have a light November and play just six games during the month starting with a non-conference, neutral-site matchup with Minnesota Duluth, Nov. 6. The Beavers then hit the road for a WCHA series at St. Cloud State University, Nov. 10-11, before returning home to host The Ohio State University, Nov. 17-18. BSU wraps up play for the month of November with a rare Wednesday evening, non-conference affair with St. Cloud State.

After a break for Thanksgiving, the Beavers travel to face Minnesota for their final regular season meeting, Dec. 1-2. BSU will then take a week off from WCHA play for a non-conference series with Rochester Institute of Technology, Dec. 8-9. Bemidji State resumes conference play with its final series before the new year in a home meeting with Minnesota State University, Mankato, Dec. 15-16.

The Beavers will have three weeks off at the conclusion of the semester and resume the 2017-18 season Jan. 2-3 as they host Mercyhurst University in their final non-conference series of the season. Following a Jan. 12-13 series at Minnesota Duluth, BSU hosts Wisconsin, Jan. 19-20. BSU will take the following week off and close out the remainder of the regular season with three series during February.

The Beavers open the month on the road at Minnesota State, Feb. 2-3, followed by their final home weekend at the Sanford Center, Feb. 9-10, with a matchup against St. Cloud State. BSU closes out the regular season on the road at Ohio State, Feb. 16-17, before post-season play begins Feb. 23 with the best-of-three series in the first round of the WCHA Playoffs.

The WCHA Final Face-Off will be held March 2-3 at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis, Minn., with the tournament champion earning an automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament beginning March 9.

The Beavers finished the 2016-17 season with a 12-20-3 record and earned the seventh seed in the WCHA Playoffs by going 7-18-3 in conference play. The Beavers took one game against second-seeded Minnesota in the tournament but fell to the Gophers in the best-of-three series.

Bemidji State welcomes back 17 letter-winners from the 2016-17 season including leading scorer Emily Bergland and will add seven newcomers to the program in 2017-18.

For more information on the Bemidji State hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).