Bemidji State picked to finish fifth in Preseason Coaches’ Poll
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Bemidji State picked to finish fifth in Preseason Coaches’ Poll

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The Bemidji State University women’s hockey team was voted to finish fifth in the women’s Western Collegiate Hockey Association Preseason Coaches’ Poll Tuesday, September 12.

The Beavers garnered 14 points to finish fifth in the poll voted on the league’s seven coaches. University of Minnesota dethroned University of Wisconsin by collecting four first place votes and 34 points to solidify the top spot.

The Badgers and two-time defending WCHA Champions finished second with 33 points and three first place votes. University of Minnesota Duluth and Ohio State University each tied for the third spot with 23 points.

Follow the Beavers in the fifth spot was St. Cloud State University in sixth and Minnesota State University, Mankato rounded out the poll in seventh.

Ohio State goaltender Kassidy Sauve was selected as the coaches’ preseason favorite for WCHA Player of the Year after earning All-America Second Team honors a season ago.

Minnesota freshman forward Grace Zumwinkle earned Preseason WCHA Rookie of the Year, beating out Bemidji State freshman forward Clair DeGeorge in the voting.

The Beavers get their 2017-18 season underway on Sept. 20 by hosting the South Korean National Team in an exhibition at the Sanford Center. BSU officially begins the season Sept. 29-30 with a non-conference series against Syracuse University, also at the Sanford Center.

For more information on the Bemidji State hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).