Nine Beavers identified as All-American Scholars by AHCA

Nine Beavers identified as All-American Scholars by AHCA
Wednesday, September 27, 2017
Nine Beavers identified as All-American Scholars by AHCA

BEMIDJI, Minn. – Nine members from the 2016-17 Bemidji State University women’s hockey team were selected as All-American Scholars by the American Hockey Coaches Association, Tuesday afternoon.

Carley Esse, Reilly Fawcett, Abby Halluska, Madison Hutchinson, Jacqueline Kaasa, Brittni Mowat, Kiki Radke, Emma Terres and Summer Thibodeau were all recognized by the AHCA for their achievements in the classroom.

A new initiative of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) recognizes varsity ice hockey players who averaged a 3.6 GPA and participated in 40% of their school's games during the 2016-17 season. In the first year of this program, a total of 1,229 athletes reached this standard. A small number of waivers to the 40% participation requirement was granted due to injury or for back-up goaltenders.

"I want to give credit to Mark Ostapina, head men's coach at Milwaukee School of Engineering and Mare MacDougall Bari, assistant women's coach at St. Lawrence University, for spearheading the successful launch of this initiative," said AHCA executive director Joe Bertagna. "We have been recognizing on-ice excellence with our All American program since 1957. It is long overdue for us to formally recognize excellence in the classroom."

A full list of the honorees can be found, here

For more information on the Bemidji State hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).