Women’s Hockey announces 2018-19 team captains

Women’s Hockey announces 2018-19 team captains
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Women’s Hockey announces 2018-19 team captains

BEMIDJI, Minn. – Bemidji State University Women’s Hockey Head Coach Jim Scanlan announced Melissa Hunt, Emily Bergland and Kiki Radke will captain the Beaver squad during the 2018-19 season.

Hunt, a senior from Hartney, Manitoba, will serve as the team captain and wear the “C” while Bergland and Radke will each wear the “A” as assistant captains.

“We have a team full of outstanding leaders, and the group has selected three excellent teammates to represent them as team captains,” said Scanlan. “Melissa, Emily and Kiki are all high-character players who lead by example every day.  They will be tremendous ambassadors for our team, our university and the community of Bemidji.”

Hunt has been a consistent member of the Beavers’ defense since joining BSU as a freshman in 2015-16. Hunt has missed just three games during her three-year career appearing in 106 games. She has totaled nine career points (4g-5a) but has continuously shut down opponent’s top forwards throughout her career. Hunt is a two-time WCHA All-Academic Team selection and earned WCHA All-Rookie Team honors in 2015-16.

The Beavers’ returning active points leader, Emily Bergland, will serve as one of two assistant captains during the season. A native of Thief River Falls, Minn., Bergland has appeared in 108 career games and has led the Beavers in goals the past two seasons. She has tallied 30 goals and 23 assists for 53 points in her career and has been a constant member of the Beavers’ power play, scoring seven power-play goals. Bergland is a two-time WCHA Scholar Athlete and WCHA All-Academic Team selection.

Serving as the other assistant captain, Kiki Radke enters her third season with the green and white. A native of Hastings, Minn., Radke has appeared in 68 career games, totaling six goals and 15 assists for 21 points. During her sophomore season, she set a career high in points (12) and assists (9) while two of her three goals during the season were on the power play. Radke is an AHCA Honors “All America Scholar” recipient and was a WCHA Scholar Athlete and WCHA All-Academic Team selection for the first time in 2017-18.

The trio and the rest of the 2018-19 Beavers open the season at home against two-time defending national champions, No. 1 Clarkson University Sept. 28-29 at Sanford Center.

For more information on the Bemidji State hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).