Women’s Hockey begins 2019 by hosting Dutchwomen

Women’s Hockey begins 2019 by hosting Dutchwomen
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Women’s Hockey begins 2019 by hosting Dutchwomen

BEMIDJI, Minn. – The Bemidji State University women’s hockey team rings in the 2019 calendar year by hosting Union College for a non-conference series at Sanford Center Jan. 4-5. The Beavers (5-13-1, 4-7-1-0 WCHA) face-off with the Dutchwomen (2-14-2, 0-7-1 ECAC) to begin the new year after having the past month off for the Holiday Break. Bemidji State last played at Mercyhurst University Dec. 7-8, and split its non-conference series with the Lakers in Erie, Pa.   

The Series
This weekend’s series between the Beavers and Dutchwomen will be the first ever meeting between the two programs. Bemidji State head coach Jim Scanlan enters the weekend 76-80-11 in five seasons with the Beavers with Union head coach Josh Sciba is 14-64-8 in three seasons at the helm of the Dutchwomen program.

A Look At The Dutchwomen
Union enters the new year last in the Eastern College Athletic Conference standings with just one point in league play and a 0-7-1 record. The Dutchwomen are 2-14-2 overall and are winless in their last 10 games. Union last played on Dec. 7-8 and fell to Quinnipiac University and Princeton University by scores of 3-1 and 4-0.

The Dutchwomen come into the weekend averaging just 1.17 goals per game for 11th in the ECAC and 37th of 40 teams in Division I. They also allow 3.61 goals per game which is second to last in their conference and 35th in Division I. Union averages 6.9 penalty minutes per game to rank ninth in its respective conference. The Dutchwomen’s power play has scored on 6-of-67 chances this season to rank 10th in the league with a .090 percentage. Union’s penalty kill is seventh in the ECAC at .850 percent and have killed off 51-of-60 chances.

Union is led by senior defenseman Arianna Kosakowski this season. Kosakowski paces the Dutchwomen’s offense with eight points (4g-4a) in 17 games. She is joined by junior forward Rachel de Perio who has totaled six points (2g-4a) in 18 games. They are followed by junior Haley Shugart and freshman Grace Heiting who each have totaled five points so far this season.  The Dutchwomen have split time in net between sophomore Coco Francis and junior Amelia Murray. Francis leads the team with nine games played and is 1-8-0 with a 3.86 goals against average and .876 save percentage while Murray has posted a 1-4-2 record with a 2.87 goals against average and .913 save percentage.

A Look at the Beavers
Bemidji State begins the 2019 calendar year with a 5-13-1 overall record and fifth in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association standings with 13 points and a league record of 4-7-1-0. Bemidji State spent the final weekend of 2018 in Erie, Pa., where the Beavers split its series with Mercyhurst by scores of 3-0 and 3-1.

Bemidji State is led on offense by senior Emily Bergland who has posted 10 points (3g-7a) in 19 games including posting a goal and assist against the Lakers. Sophomore Clair DeGeorge follows with nine points (4g-5a) while junior Jacqueline Kaasa follows with seven points (2g-5a). Junior Haley Mack leads the Beavers in scoring with five goals and has six points in 14 games. In the crease, the Beavers have split time between sophomores Lauren Bench and Kerigan Dowhy. Dowhy leads the team with 10 games played compared to nine for Bench while Dowhy leads the team with a 3-7-0 record. Bench leads the team with a 2.35 goals against average and .907 save percentage while Dowhy follows closely with a  3.08 GAA and .901 save percentage.

For more information on the Bemidji State hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).