Passolt named WCHA Forward of the Week

Passolt named WCHA Forward of the Week
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Passolt named WCHA Forward of the Week

BEMIDJI, Minn. – Following a three-point performance that helped the Bemidji State Women’s hockey team split its series with University of Minnesota Duluth, sophomore Lydia Passolt has been selected as the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Forward of the Week for Jan. 15.

Passolt paced the Beavers (8-14-1, 5-8-1-0 WCHA) with two goals and finished with three points on the weekend to tie for third in league scoring. The Chanhassen, Minn., native began with her first career two-goal game Friday in a 4-1 win over the Bulldogs. Passolt scored the game’s first two goals including the eventual game-winning goal in the first period to help extend a program record home winning streak to seven games. She then recorded the primary assist to the game’s first goal Saturday that gave BSU a 1-0 lead early in the first.

Passolt finished with six shots on net and tied for a league-high by going +4 on the ice after being on the ice for five of the Beavers’ six goals over the weekend.

The weekly award is the first nod from the WCHA in her two seasons with Bemidji State.

Passolt and the rest of the Beaver squad will look to next Saturday when the Beavers take part in Hockey Day in Minnesota by hosting Minnesota State University outdoors in front of Lake Bemidji. Festivities will kick-off at 9 a.m. with Bemidji State and Minnesota State dropping the puck at 1 p.m. Saturday. Tickets are still available.

For more information on the Bemidji State hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).