Bemidji State Women’s Hockey leads WCHA with 14 Scholar-Athlete honorees

Bemidji State Women’s Hockey leads WCHA with 14 Scholar-Athlete honorees
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Bemidji State Women’s Hockey leads WCHA with 14 Scholar-Athlete honorees

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, through University of Minnesota Faculty Athletics Representative Dr. Perry Leo (Chair, Women’s League) and WCHA Women’s League Commissioner Katie Million, today announced the 65 student-athletes honored as the 2018-19 WCHA Women’s League Scholar-Athlete Award recipients.

Bemidji State led the league for a WCHA-best 14 student-athletes honored.

“On behalf of the Women’s League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, I want to extend a heartfelt congratulations to all of our WCHA Scholar-Athletes for 2018-19,” Dr. Leo said. “This is a truly outstanding group of young women attending our institutions and competing in our conference. Our Scholar-Athlete Award recipients give exemplary effort and dedication to all facets of the collegiate academic and athletic experience.”

“I am excited to publicly recognize the terrific academic accomplishments of these 65 student-athletes, who have maintained high standards in their studies while competing at the top level of collegiate hockey,” said Commissioner Million. “Similarly, I salute the successful commitment of our member institutions to the WCHA mission of providing the very best experience, both on and off the ice. Each WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award recipient is a wonderful representative of the Association and its schools; we commend and applaud them all.”

The WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award was developed through member men’s and women’s institutional Faculty Athletics Representatives and approved by the WCHA membership for the 2005-06 season. To earn recognition as a WCHA Scholar-Athlete, league-member student-athletes must have completed at least one year of residency at their present institution prior to the current academic year and must also have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the previous two semesters or three quarters, or may qualify if his/her overall GPA is at least 3.50 for all terms at his or her present institution.

Over the 14 years of the award, there have now been more than 1,200 men’s and women’s WCHA Scholar-Athlete honorees representing every WCHA member institution. Thirty-three of this season's 65 women’s recipients are repeat honorees, with eight of those now being three-time honorees.

Bemidji State players recognized as 2018-19 WCHA Scholar-Athletes are: Paige Beebe (So., F, Blaine, Minn.), Lauren Bench** (RS-So., G, Eagan, Minn.), Emily Bergland*** (Sr., F, Thief River Falls, Minn.), Clair DeGeorge (So.,F, Anchorage, Alaska), Kerigan Dowhy (So., G, The Pas, Manitoba), Abby Ecker (R-Fr., D, Grey Eagle, Minn.), Lindsey Featherstone (So., F, Woodbury, Minn.), Abby Halluska** (Jr., F, Delano, Minn.), Jacqueline Kaasa** (Jr., F, North Hudson, Wis.), Mak Langei (So., D, East Grand Forks, Minn.), Haley Mack** (Jr., F, East Grand Forks, Minn.), Sylvia Marolt** (Sr., F, Thief River Falls, Minn.), Kiki Radke** (Jr., F, Hastings, Minn.) and Kara Werth (So., D, Moorhead, Minn.).

(** indicates two-time recipient, *** indicates three-time recipient)

For more information on the Bemidji State hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).