Bench and Langei recognized as All-WCHA Third Team selections

Bench and Langei recognized as All-WCHA Third Team selections
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Bench and Langei recognized as All-WCHA Third Team selections

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – A pair of Bemidji State University women’s hockey members earned Western Collegiate Hockey Association postseason accolades Thursday afternoon as the WCHA postseason awards were announced. Sophomores Lauren Bench and Mak Langei were named to the All-WCHA Third Team.

For Langei, this is her second career postseason award from the WCHA after being named to the All-WCHA Rookie Team last season while this marks the first honor for Bench.

Bench leads the Beavers netminders with a with a 9-9-2 record and has posed a 2.41 goals against average and .910 save percentage in 21 games. She has earned four shutouts this season which ranks fifth in school history and recorded the longest shutout streak in school history (161:32) earlier this season. Bench was also recognized as the WCHA Goaltender of the Week, Dec. 4 and a WCHA Scholar-Athlete. In just two campaigns she is already climbing the BSU goaltending charts and ranks in the top-10 in career games, wins, shutouts, goals against average and saves.

Langei earns her second WCHA postseason award after leading BSU blueliners with 10 points off of two goals and eight assists. Langei also is second on the team and is tied for fourth in the WCHA with 70 blocked shots this season. In her two seasons with the Beavers, Langei ranks among the top-10 BSU defenders in career points and career assists. Langei was named the WCHA Defenseman of the Week, Feb. 19 and is a WCHA Scholar-Athlete.

The league also announce the WCHA All-Academic Team and Bemidji State led the league with 19 All-Academic Team selections. Bemidji State’s 19 members are: Paige Beebe (So., F, Blaine, Minn.); Lauren Bench (So., G, Eagan, Minn.); Emily Bergland (Sr., F, Thief River Falls, Minn.); Clair DeGeorge (So., F, Anchorage, Ak.); Kerigan Dowhy (So., G, The Pas, Manitoba); Abby Ecker (So., D, Grey Eagle, Minn.); Lindsey Featherstone (So., F, Woodbury, Minn.); Abby Halluska (Jr., F, Delano, Minn.); Melissa Hunt (Sr., D, Hartney, Manitoba); Briana Jorde (Jr., D, Thief River Falls, Minn.); Jacqueline Kaasa (Jr., F, North Hudson, Wis.); Tina Kampa (So., D, Maple Grove, Minn.); Mak Langei (So., D, East Grand Forks, Minn.); Haley Mack (Jr., F., East Grand Forks, Minn.); Sylvia Marolt (Sr., F, Thief River Falls, Minn.); Heather Olson (Jr., D, Bemidji, Minn.); Lydia Passolt (So., F, Chanhassen, Minn.); Kiki Radke (Jr., F, Hastings, Minn.); Kara Werth (So., D, Moorhead, Minn.)

For more information on the Bemidji State hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).