Bemidji State soccer hands out 2011 team awards
Thursday, December 15, 2011
Bemidji State soccer hands out 2011 team awards
BEMIDJI, Minn. -- Head Coach Jim Stone acknowledge the accomplishments of the 2011 Bemidji State women’s soccer team for the feats performed this past season by handing out the annual team awards. The BSU women’s soccer team finished the season with a 8-8-3 overall record and a 6-4-3 mark in the NSIC.

Abby Kjonaas (Sr., GK, Fargo, N.D.) received both the Beaver of the Year (Megan Wallner Award) as well as being named the Team Defensive MVP (Kari Torgerson Award).  Kjonaas started between the posts in sixteen matches for the Beavers, finishing the season with a 1.17 goals against average and a .868 save percentage. She only allowed eighteen goals in the sixteen games played, but also droughted her opponents seven times with seven shutout games.

The Offensive MVP (Ashlee Ellefsen Award) recipient was Kirsten Erickson (Sr., F, Coon Rapids, Minn.). Erickson started all 19 of the Beavers’ matches as a senior and led the team in scoring with nine goals to go with four assists and finished the season with 22 points.  Her six goals and two assists in NSIC play, placed her in a tie for sixth place on the league leaderboard in points (14) and sixth in goals scored (6), while she was seventh in shots attempted (54). Of the Beavers’ eight wins in 2011, Erickson accounted for five game-winning goals.

Bri Scanlan (Sr., M/F, East Grand Forks, Minn.)  was named the 2011 Hardest Worker (Bri Scanlan Award). Scanlan played and started in nineteen games, scoring three goals and recording three assists.  She posted a .621 shots-on-goal percentage while recording nine total points in the 2011 campaign.  In addition to efforts on the field, Scanlan was also noted for her efforts in the classroom, being named a member to the 2011 Fall Academic All-NSIC Team.

Mari Wallestad (Fr., D, Ramsey, Minn.) was this year’s recipient of The Rookie Of The Year Award (Cristina Egnell Award). The freshman started in all nineteen games, tallying one goal.  

Bethany Fluto (Sr., F, Bemidji, Minn.) garnered the Most Improved (Linsey Olesiak Award).  Fluto appeared in all nineteen games, starting fourteen of them while notching one goal and recording two points.

Analey Skog (R-So, F, St. Francis, Minn.) was tabbed with the Best Attitude (Emily Prall Award).  

Winning the award for her love and courage was Tiffany Van Haaften (Jr., M, Chaska, Minn.)--the Analey Skog Award.

This year’s Super-Sub (Ashley Lehmeier Award) was given to Rachel Scheller (Fr., M/D, Maple Grove, Minn.)

Kari McAllen, Brianna Duff, and Scanlan were selected  for the 2011 Coaches Award.

In addition to honoring current players, the BSU soccer team took time to recognize some of its former players. Katie Meinhardt, Teagan Mohen and Kari Torgerson, which all ended their collegiate playing careers in 2006, were indicted into the BSU Soccer Hall of Fame.