Bemidji State’s Arneson and Thelen earn Capitol One All-District 7 nods
Friday, November 10, 2017

BEMIDJI Minn. -- Bemidji State University soccer senior goalkeeper Catherine Arneson and midfielder Raquel Thelen have been named to the College Sports Information Directors of America College Division Academic All-District® First Team for their efforts on the field and in the classroom.

Arneson, who was named 2017 NSIC Goalkeeper of the Year, is a two-time All-NSIC selection, earing First Team accolades in 2016 following a 2016 second-team award. She is 8-0-2 in 12 appearances, 10 starts and 1,034 minutes in 2017. The Fort Collins, Colo., native finished the regular season fourth in the NSIC in goals against average (.0.52), second in save percentage (.889) and fourth in shutouts (6). She ranked among the nation's top goaltenders in goals against average and save percentage all season and finished the regular season fourth in save percentage (.913) and sixth in the country with a goals against average of .381. The senior opened the season with a 626:41 shutout streak, not allowing her first goal until her eighth appearance of 2017 and led a goalkeeping duo that was second in the league in goals allowed (0.50) and goals allowed average (0.48).

Arneson, a three-time Academic All-NSIC selection, carries a 3.70 cumulative GPA in elementary education. She is a regular on BSU’s Dean's List and Athletic Director's 3.0 Club.

A three-time All-NSIC honoree, Thelen earned a spot on the All-NSIC First Team to cap her senior year. She was also a First Team selection in 2016 and earned Third-Team honors following the 2014 season. A midfielder in 2017, she is fifth on the team in scoring with 16 points in 18 appearances. She is fifth on the team with five goals and her five assists rank third among her teammates. The Andover, Minn., native has a knack for scoring the big goal, logging four of her five goals as game-winners.

Thelen, also a three-time Academic All-NSIC selection, carries a 3.90 cumulative GPA and is a accounting major. She is a regular on BSU’s Dean's List and Athletic Director's 3.0 Club.

Due to Arneson and Thelen’s first team nods, they will now be included on the 2017-18 College Division CoSIDA Academic All-America® ballot.

This selection marks the first time Arneson or Thelen have earned Academic All-District honors and continues a long line of BSU soccer players honored for academic success. Cristina Egnell was the first to be named to a squad when she was named to the third team in 2004. In 2005, she was named to the first team and Erin Foss earned third-team honors. Egnell later became the first BSU soccer Academic All-America honoree when she was named to the first team at the conclusion of the 2005 season. Megan Wallner garnered third-team accolades in 2007, Alysha Domiano was named to the third team in 2010 and Hillary Duff was a two-time All-District selection, earning first-team honors in 2011. Tiffany VanHaaften earned a spot on the squad in 2012 and 2013, which included a first-team nod in 2013 and Sarah Stram was a two-time all-district pick (2015, 2016) and earned Academic All-America honors following the 2016 season.

The Beavers, now 15-1-3 overall finished secon in the Northern Sun Intercollegaite Conference standings with a 12-0-3 mark. The team, which was ranked among the top 15 in the country for the final five weeks of the season, earned an at-large berth into the NCAA Tournament, marking the first invite in program history. The Beavers will open NCAA postseason play at 1 p.m. today (Nov. 10) in Warrensburg, Mo. Opening kick between BSU and Augustana University (S.D.) is set for 1 p.m.

BSU has now had at least one student-athlete named to the all-district team in each of the last 15 years and boasts 22 academic All-America selections dating back to the 1970s.

For more information on the Bemidji State soccer program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).