Bemidji State Takes Third at 2005 NSIC Championship
Sunday, April 17, 2005
BEMIDJI, Minn. - [complete results] The Bemidji State University tennis season came to an end Sunday as the team finished in a tie for third place at the 2005 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Championship at the St. Mary's University Tennis Center in Winona, Minn. The Beavers were led by the duet of Angie Harrison (Virginia, Minn.) and Sarah Berg (Bemidji, Minn.) who each captured second place in their respective singles bracket while gaining all-conference honorable mention honors.

The Beavers totaled eight points to tie Southwest Minnesota State University for third place while Winona State University won titles at each of the six singles positions and all three doubles spots to garner its third championship in four years with 36 points. Minnesota State University finished second with 11 team points.

Individual Honors were also swept by Winona State. Michele Bailey took home Tournament MVP honors while head coach Sean Kangara was named as 2005 NSIC Coach of the Year.

Despite being shut out of a singles or doubles crown, BSU sent two of its singles participants to the championship match. Harrison, in her first singles event since injuring her ankle March 6th, was defeated by WSU's Megan Newbauer (6-3, 6-3) for the No. 3 singles championship. Maggie Lindquist of Winona State defeated BSU's Berg in straight sets for the No. 6 singles title. Also in singles competition, Sherry Kuzel (East Grand Forks, Minn.) took third at No. 2 singles by default and Emily Berg (Red Wing, Minn.) over SMSU's Nicole Hartmann (6-2, 6-1).

In doubles action, each BSU team was defeated in the opening round, but the pairs of Kuzel/Melissa Fogelson (Bemidji, Minn.) defeated SMSU's Schmidt/Hartman (6-4, 6-4) for third and S. Berg/E. Berg won the consolation title by dropping MSUM's Cederberg/Parker (6-1, 6-2).

The Beavers finish the season 4-14 overall and 2-1 versus NSIC competition. After its best NSIC Championship finish in more than five years, the team returns six student-athletes for the 2006 campaign including 2005 all-conference honorable mention singles player S. Berg.