BSU tennis returns to action March 22-23
Wednesday, March 19, 2014
BSU tennis returns to action March 22-23

BEMIDJI, Minn. — The Bemidji State University tennis team returns to action with a pair of road matches March 22-23 after more than a month free from competition. The Beavers will open the weekend with a nonconference, neutral-site match versus the College of St. Benedict in Sioux Falls, S.D. at 6 p.m. Saturday. BSU will then face Augustana College at 9 a.m. Sunday in a return to Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference play.

Under second-year head coach Mark Fodness, the Beavers have posted four wins in their first seven matches, and are off to their best start since opening the 2009 campaign 4-3. A victory this weekend would mark the first time BSU tennis has secured more than four wins in a season since going 7-14 in 2008.

The Beaver have been led this season by the pair of Shaylin Prout (So., Thunder Bay, Ontario) and Deanie Hatch (So., Brea, Calif.). Prout is 6-1 at No. 1 singles and Hatch has posted a 5-2 mark in the No. 2 singles slot, while the two have combined for a 4-2 mark in No. 1 doubles play.

Dating back to 2004, BSU has faced St. Bens just two times and holds a 0-2 record versus the Blazers. CSB defeated BSU 7-2 in the last meeting between the teams, March 28, 2009.

BSU is 0-6 versus Augustana since 2005. The Vikings swept the Beavers, 9-0, March 23 of last year.

In its last action Feb. 15, Bemidji State narrowly defeated NSIC for University of Minnesota Duluth, 5-4, in Bemidji, Minn.

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s tennis program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).