Beaver Tennis selected for 2017 All-NSIC honors

Beaver Tennis selected for 2017 All-NSIC honors
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Beaver Tennis selected for 2017 All-NSIC honors

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – A record number six BSU Tennis Team members have been named to the All-Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Team. Senior Morgan Opp and sophomore Zoë Lindgren each earned a spot on the league’s Second Team as singles and doubles players, while freshmen Hannah Alme and Ariadna Lopez-Simo earned a spot on the All-NSIC Second Team for doubles play.

A transfer to BSU for the 2016 season, Opp earns her second All-NSIC honor in as many years. In 2017 she anchored the Beavers’ lineup in the No. 1 singles position in 16 of BSU’s 18 matches. She was second on the team with an 11-5 singles record, putting her among the top 20 in the league and third among No. 1 singles players, and was 5-4 versus NSIC competition.

Lindgren posted a 10-5 mark in singles play this season, going 1-1 in the No. 1 singles position, and 9-4 at No. 2. She posted a 6-4 record versus NSIC competition. In addition, Opp and Lindgren teamed up to form the Beavers’ No. 1 doubles pair. The team led BSU with a 14-4 doubles record, and ranked third among the NSIC’s top doubles teams, and recorded an 8-3 record in league play. The team was named to the All-NSIC Second Team for its doubles play.

In the Beavers’ No. 2 doubles position, Lopez-Simo and Alme were fourth in the NSIC with an overall record of 7-3. The duo of freshman went 6-3 versus NSIC competition.

With six All-NSIC sections, the Beavers’ 2017 team sets a program record of all-conference picks. While the system for selecting players for league honors has changes over the years, BSU has never had more than three players recognized for post-season honors. This year also marks the third consecutive year BSU has had at least one player selected to the All-NSIC Team. A year ago, Opp, a second-team pick, followed in the footsteps of 2014 third-team selection Shaylin Prout.

Since Mark Fodness took the reins of the BSU tennis program in 2013, 10 players have earned all-conference honors.

In the same announcement the NSIC named Augustana University's Kornelia Staniszewska as its Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, while teammate Taylor Jackson was named Freshman of the Year and Issabella Sella, of Upper Iowa University earned the league’s Senior of the Year honor. Augustana's Marc Kurtz was named NSIC Coach of the Year for the third consecutive season. He led the Vikings to a 16-6 record, with a perfect 11-0 mark in NSIC play en route to their seventh straight NSIC Championship and a berth into the NCAA Division II Tournament.

The Beavers finish the season 12-6 overall and established a school record for wins in a season (12), surpassing its 2016 11-win season.

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s tennis program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).