Bemidji State splits neutral-site, NSIC weekend

Bemidji State splits neutral-site, NSIC weekend
Sunday, February 11, 2018
Bemidji State splits neutral-site, NSIC weekend

GRAND FORKS, N.D. (Choice Fitness) -- The Bemidji State University tennis team posted a 1-1 record in a neutral-site weekend of Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference play, Feb. 10-11 in Grand Forks, N.D. The Beavers earned a 5-4 victory over Upper Iowa University Saturday afternoon before a 6-3 loss to Winona State University Sunday morning.

After a forfeit at No. 3 doubles and an 8-6 victory in the No. 2 doubles spot by Hannah Alme and Brook Mimmack, the Beavers went into singles play with a 2-1 lead over the Peacocks.

Mimmack led the Beavers in singles play, posting a 6-0, 6-0 victory at No. 4 singles. Alme netted a 6-0, 6-1 triumph in the No. 3 slot to secure the match victory before UIU went on a run of singles wins at 1, 5 and 2.

Sunday morning the Beavers entered singles play trailing the Warriors, 2-1. BSU's doubles pair of Zoë Lindgren and Adriana Lopez-Simo recorded an 8-3 win in the No. 1 position to account for the Beavers' lone doubles point.

WSU made a run of four straight wins to open singles play, netting team points in the No. 5, 6, 4 and 2 singles matches, which included a pair of third set tiebreakers, before BSU bounced back to gain wins from Alme (6-7 (2-6), 6-2, 10-6) at No. 3 singles and a straight-sets win by Lindgren in the No. 1 slot.

The Beavers, now 2-1 overall and 2-1 in league play, return to play Feb. 17-18 when they hosts St. Cloud State University and the University of Minnesota Duluth at the Gillett Wellness Center.

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s tennis program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).