Beavers travel to Sioux Falls for two NSIC matches

Beavers travel to Sioux Falls for two NSIC matches
Thursday, February 22, 2018
Beavers travel to Sioux Falls for two NSIC matches

Bemidji, Minn. – The Bemidji State University tennis team travels to Sioux Falls, S.D., Feb. 24 and 25 to take on University of Sioux Falls and Augustana University. Matches begin at 6:30 p.m. Saturday and 9 a.m. Sunday, respectively.

Sioux Falls holds a 5-1 record after splitting two home matches against MSU Moorhead and University of Mary Feb. 17 and 18.

During the 2017 season, BSU defeated USF, 8-1, in a neutral site match in Grand Forks, N.D. The Beavers’ only loss came from number three singles play where Adriadna Lopez-Simo fell to Kara Bunkers.

Augustana comes into Sunday’s match with an eight-match win streak, with their last two victories coming from sweeps of U-Mary Feb. 17 and MSU Moorhead Feb. 18.

Last year, the Beavers fell to the Vikings 9-0. Every set in the match was won by AU with BSU picking up at least one point, except number six singles played by BSU’s Sabrina Okeson who fell, 7-5, 6-0, to AU’s Annika Teske.

The Beavers come into the Feb. 24 and 25 matches after a 5-4 win over St. Cloud State University Feb. 17. BSU’s match against University of Minnesota Duluth will be played at a later date due to inclement weather Sunday, Feb. 18.

BSU continues its home schedule Mar. 4 with matches against University of Wisconsin-River Falls and University of Minnesota Crookston. Matches begin at 2:30 p.m. against UWRF and 4:30 p.m. against UMC.

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s tennis program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).