Three Beavers selected for 2018 NSIC tennis honors

Three Beavers selected for 2018 NSIC tennis honors
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Three Beavers selected for 2018 NSIC tennis honors

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – Bemidji State University junior Zoë Lindgren and sophomores Hannah Alme and Ariadna Lopez-Simo garnered all-conference accolades, the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference announced May 8, after leading the Beavers to a 10-5 record and placing fourth in the league with a 7-4 mark in NSIC competition. Lindgren was selected Second Team All-NSIC for her singles play, while Alme and Lopez-Simo each earned Honorable Mention honors as singles players.

Lindgren, a native of Bozman Mont., posted a 7-7 mark in singles play this season, going 5-6 versus league competition as the Beavers’ top player. Among the league’s No. 1 singles players, Lindgren was sixth with seven wins, while her .500 winning percentage placed her seventh.

This is the third All-NSIC of the junior’s BSU career award after posting second team honors a year ago for singles play, she also teamed up with three-time all-NSIC selection and BSU graduate Morgan Opp to garner Second Team All-NSIC honors as BSU’s No. 1 doubles pair.

Alme led all BSU singles players with a 13-2 overall record and 10-1 mark versus the NSIC. She went 9-1, with the bulk of her matches coming in the No. 3 singles position, while she was 3-1 as BSU’s No. 2 singles player and posted a 1-0 mark in the No. 1 slot. She ranked ninth in the NSIC with 13 singles wins, her .909 winning percentage in league play placed her among the top 10 NSIC players and her 9-1 record as a No. 3 player ranked second among the league’s No. 3s.

A year ago the Baldwin, Wis. native teamed up with Lopez-Simo to earn a Second Team All-NSIC honor as the Beavers No. 2 doubles pair.

Lopez-Simo’s honorable mention award is also the second of her collegiate career and her first as a singles player.

Despite missing five matches due to injury, the native of Barcelona, Spain finished her sophomore season 5-4 in singles play and was 4-4 versus NSIC competition in the Beavers’ No. 2 singles position. Her .556 winning percentage placed her sixth when compared to the league top No. 2 singles players.

Following a program-record six All-NSIC awards in 2017, BSU’s three conference honors this spring marks the fourth consecutive year at least one Beaver has been selected for All-NSIC honors.

Since Mark Fodness took the reins of the BSU tennis program in 2013, 13 players have earned all-conference honors.

In the same announcement the NSIC named Augustana University's Kornelia Staniszewska as its Player of the Year for the third consecutive season, while teammate Berkley Darr was named Senior of the Year and Chloe Jefferies, of the University of Sioux Falls earned the league’s Freshman of the Year honor.

Augustana's Marc Kurtz was named NSIC Coach of the Year for the fourth consecutive season. He led the Vikings to a 21-4 record, with a perfect 11-0 mark in NSIC play en route to their ninth consecutive regular season title, eighth straight NSIC Tournament Championship and a berth into the NCAA Division II Tournament.

The Beavers (10-5; 7-4 NSIC) finished the season with their third consecutive 10-win campaign and advanced to the NSIC semifinal for the first time since the league adjusted its postseason tournament to the current format for the 2010 campaign.

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s tennis program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).