Bemidji State falls short in NSIC opener, 4-3

Bemidji State falls short in NSIC opener, 4-3
Friday, February 8, 2019
Bemidji State falls short in NSIC opener, 4-3

DULUTH, Minn. -- After capturing the doubles point with victories at No. 1 and No. 3 doubles, the Bemidji State University Tennis Team saw the University of Minnesota Duluth earn wins in four of six singles matches for a 4-3 victory late Friday at the Duluth Indoor Sports Center.

UMD earned an edge early, winning the No. 2 doubles match over BSU's pair of Brooke Mimmack and Breann Walsh, 6-1, however, the Beavers' No. 3 pair of Hanna Alme and Laney Rutkowski earned a 6-3 victory in their match setting up the No. 1 doubles court as the decisive match. BSU's No. 1 team of Zoë Lindgren and Ariadna Lopez-Simo clinched the point with a 6-4 win.

Lopez-Simo also got singles play off in BSU's favor. She defeated her No. 2 singles opponent in straight sets, 6-1, 6-0, to put BSU up 2-0 in the match. The Bulldogs bounced back to tie the match with wins over BSU's Mimmack in the No. 4 singles match (6-1, 6-3) and the Beavers' No. 3 singles player, Alme (6-4, 6-2). Lindgren shook off a comeback attempt in the No. 1 singles spot to win her match in a tiebreaker (6-2, 4-6, 6-1), but that was all BSU would manage as the Bulldogs took the No. 5 and No. 6 singles courts to steal the NSIC victory.

The Beavers return to action early Saturday. BSU will face St. Cloud State University in a neutral-site, NSIC match. The first serve is set for 10:30 a.m. at Duluth Indoor Sports Center.

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s tennis program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).