Bemidji State used sweep at Concordia to gain 10th win of season

Bemidji State used sweep at Concordia to gain 10th win of season
Saturday, April 6, 2019
Bemidji State used sweep at Concordia to gain 10th win of season

FARGO, N.D. (Courts Plus) -- The Bemidji State University Tennis Team earned a 7-0 non-conference win at Concordia College Saturday to gain its 10th victory of the season.

The Beavers swept doubles play to head into the singles portion of the match holding a 1-0 lead over the Cobbers. Zoë Lindgren and Hannah Alme teamed up for a 6-1 win at No. 1 doubles to open the sweep. Ariadna Lopez-Simo and Laney Rutkowski posted a 6-3 win in the No. 3 slot and the duo of Brooke Mimmack and Breann Walsh won the No. 2 doubles match 7-6 (7-3).

Sophomore Hannah Peterson got singles play underway with a 6-0, 6-1 victory in the No. 6 position. Her straight set triumph was the first domino in a series of six straight wins for BSU. In addition, Walsh won her No. 5 singles match (6-2, 6-0), Mimmack was a 6-0, 6-1 winner in the No. 4 slot, Alme recorded a 6-1, 6-0 victory at No. 3, Lopez-Simo was a 6-1, 6-0 winner in the No. 2 single match and Lindgren, a senior, completed the sweep with a 6-3, 6-2 win in the No. 1 singles match.

The victory was the Beavers’ sixth in its last seven outings and marked the fourth consecutive season Head Coach Mark Fodness has led the Beavers to at least 10 wins.

The Beavers, now 10-6 overall return to their home courts at the Gillett Wellness Center tomorrow when they host the University of Wisconsin-River Falls for a non-conference match up to wrap up the 2019 regular season. First serve is set for 12 p.m.

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s tennis program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).