Lindgren and Lopez-Simo selected for 2019 NSIC Tennis honors

Lindgren and Lopez-Simo selected for 2019 NSIC Tennis honors
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Lindgren and Lopez-Simo selected for 2019 NSIC Tennis honors

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – Bemidji State University senior Zoë Lindgren and junior Ariadna Lopez-Simo garnered all-conference accolades, the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference announced today, after leading the Beavers to an 11-7 record and placing sixth in the league with a 6-5 record in NSIC competition. Lopez-Simo was named Second Team All-NSIC for her singles play, while Lindgren earned a spot on the Third Team. The Beavers’ top doubles pair, Lopez-Simo and Lindgren earned Third Team honors for their doubles play.

Lindgren, a native of Bozman, Mont., posted an 8-7 mark in singles play this season, going 4-6 versus league competition as the Beavers’ top player. Among the league’s No. 1 singles players, Lindgren was tied for sixth with eight wins, while her .533 winning percentage placed her sixth.

These are the fourth and fifth All-NSIC awards of the senior’s BSU career. She was selected for second team singles honors last spring after posting second team honors in 2017 for singles play in addition to teaming up with three-time all-NSIC selection and BSU graduate Morgan Opp to garner Second Team All-NSIC honors as BSU’s No. 1 doubles pair.

She finished her BSU career as a member of the winningest class in BSU tennis history. In four seasons, she and her senior counterpart Breann Walsh have contributed to 44 team wins including a Bemidji State record 12 victories in 2017. Lindgren compiled 39 career singles victories, while she was part of 36 doubles wins, which included 32 wins in the No. 1 doubles position.

Lopez-Simo’s honorable mention honors are the third and fourth of her collegiate career. She was selected to the All-NSIC Honorable Mention team a year ago as a singles player and earned a spot as a member of the second team as a doubles player as a freshman in 2017. 

Despite missing three matches due to injury, the native of Barcelona, Spain finished her junior season 10-4 in singles play and was 6-3 versus NSIC competition in the Beavers’ No. 2 singles position for the bulk of 2019. Her .692 winning percentage versus the NSIC placed her fourth when compared to the league’s top No. 2 singles players.

Lindgren and Lopez-Simo combined to form the Beaver’s top doubles tandem for most of 2019. The pair teamed up to post a 6-5 mark, which included a 5-3 record versus NSIC competition. For the final six matches of the season, the pair was separated to lead their own doubles teams and combined for an 8-3 record.

BSU’s four conference honors this spring marks the fifth consecutive year at least one Beaver has been selected for All-NSIC honors.

Since Mark Fodness took the reins of the BSU tennis program in 2013, 17 players have earned all-conference honors.

In the same announcement, the NSIC named Augustana University's Kornelia Staniszewska as its Player of the Year for the fourth consecutive season, while teammate Laura Arce Vieyra earned the 2019 Freshman of the Year award and Fernanda Morais Quintino DosSantos of St. Cloud State University was named Senior of the Year.

The University of Mary’s Vida Saliendra was named NSIC Coach of the Year. She led the Marauders to a 14-6 record, with a 7-4 mark in NSIC play en route to a trip to the NSIC Tournament.

The Beavers (11-7; 6-5 NSIC) finished the season with their fourth consecutive 10-win campaign and advanced to the NSIC Tournament.

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s tennis program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).