Zoe Christensen to throw at NCAA DII Indoor Championships Saturday

Zoe Christensen to throw at NCAA DII Indoor Championships Saturday
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Zoe Christensen to throw at NCAA DII Indoor Championships Saturday

BEMIDJI, Minn. -- Bemidji State University track & field sophomore Zoe Christensen will represent the program Saturday, March 14 at the 2020 NCAA Division II Indoor Track & Field Championships in Birmingham, Ala.

Christensen is the lone Beavers to qualify for the championship meet and will compete in the shot put at 4:45 p.m. at the Birmingham CrossPlex. She is one of 17 student-athletes set to compete in the shot put.

Christensen earned BSU’s first All-Central Region honor since 2011 while entering the NCAA DII Indoor Championships fifth overall in the shot put in the region. Her throw of 48-feet-9-inches set Feb. 8 at the Lake Superior Challenge set the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference benchmark at the time, which also ranks sixth all-time in program history.

Christensen also brought home her first all-conference honor after finishing second in the shot put during the 2020 NSIC Indoor Track & Field Championships Feb. 29. Her throw of 47-01.75 during the meet ranks 10th all-time in BSU indoor history while she now holds four of the Beavers’ top 10 indoor program records in the event.

NCAA DII Indoor Track & Field Championships – Birmingham, Ala.
Field Event – 4:45 p.m.
Shot Put

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit BSUBeavers.com, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).