Athletics Hall of Fame

1984 Men's Hockey Team

PLAYED AT BSU 1983-1984

Under the direction of legendary head coach R.H. Peters; the 1983-84 Bemidji State men’s hockey team posted a perfect 31-0-0 season, an NCHA title (18-0-0), en route to the program’s eighth National Championship and first at the NCAA Division II level. Led in scoring by Hobey Baker winner and All-American Joel Otto, who registered 75 points (32g-45a), the Beavers set a record for most wins in an undefeated season—a feat only six teams in men’s college hockey history have accomplished—in the midst of a men’s college hockey record 42 consecutive victories. Bemidji State out scored its opponents 210-71 during a season in which its opponents came within two goals only eight times. The Beavers had eight student-athletes, including: Otto, Scott Monsrud, Dennis Gibbons, Eric Gager, Mike Alexander and Todd Lescarbeau named All-America at the conclusion of the season, In addition, goaltender Galen Nagle was named Most Valuable Player of the NCAA Championship.