Randy Bowen among those honored with the 2017-18 Noel Olson Volunteer Award

Randy Bowen among those honored with the 2017-18 Noel Olson Volunteer Award
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Randy Bowen among those honored with the 2017-18 Noel Olson Volunteer Award

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – Former Bemidji State University student-athlete and long-time volunteer Randy Bowen of Hermantown, Minn. will be honored as one of the NSIC's 2017-18 Noel Olson Volunteer of the Year Awards during the 19th annual NSIC Hall of Fame Banquet July 10 at the Best Western Premier in Burnsville, Minn.

Bowen will join Gene and Jan Casey, who were nominated for their work with Wayne State College, in receiving the award.

The Noel Olson Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes the singular commitment of former NSIC coach and Athletic Administrator, Noel Olson, to the advancement of NSIC visibility, credibility, and excellence throughout the nation during his tenure in the league. The award is intended to honor individuals who, as volunteers, have made significant contributions to the NSIC as a whole. On a periodic basis, one or more individuals receive the award in appreciation of efforts to support the NSIC activities and/or athletic programs within any NSIC member institution(s) or the NSIC conference office. The award recipients are nominated by each of the NSIC's 16 institutions and selected by the NSIC Hall of Fame Committee. 

A member of the Bemidji State football team from 1969-72, Bowen has been a tireless volunteer and advocate for BSU since his graduation with a degree in education in 1973. Despite a successful and lengthy career in higher education at the College of St. Scholastica in Duluth, Minn., Bowen never strayed far from his alma mater.

As a volunteer, he served eight years on the BSU Alumni Association Board of Directors, including six years as an officer. In two years as the board’s president, he represented the Alumni Association at numerous events throughout the state and region. After completing two terms of service on the Alumni Board, Bowen was asked to help lead the formation of the Alumni B-Club and was a founding member of the National Alumni Football Committee. While the two groups were different, Bowen led the charge to help communicate, engage and support BSU Athletics. As part of the B-Club executive committee, he helped begin the B-Club Challenge in 2015, which has since raised more than $100,000 for BSU Athletic scholarships.  Bowen served as the B-Club’s president for two years and under his direction the organization began a successful partnership with BSU’s Twin Cities Alumni Chapter to develop a metro-based golf tournament, which is now in its fifth year. In addition, he helps host the football reunion held each year during BSU’s Homecoming festivities and is a member of BSU’s Athletic Hall of Fame committee.

A popular emcee of the B-Club Athletic Hall of Fame induction brunch and various Beaver Pride luncheons, Bowen readily offers to dedicate his time and expertise to assist his alma mater.

In 2014, Bowen was honored with Bemidji State’s Alumni Service Award.

In addition to his longtime commitment to BSU, Bowen has spent many years volunteering for athletic groups in his hometown of Hermantown, Minn. He has coached many youth sports teams, including a stint as a volunteer golf coach at Hermantown High School.

Now in it’s 10th year, Bowen follows Dr. Keith Marek, who received the 2014-15 Noel Olson Volunteer of the Year Award, as the only two individuals connected to Bemidji State University to be bestowed with the honor.

As a part of the NSIC Hall of Fame Banquet, Bowen will also join former BSU Head Volleyball Coach, Donna Palivec, who is being inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame the same evening.

To attend the NSIC Hall of Fame Banquet go to www.NorthernSun.org/SummerKickoff and fill out the online form.  The price to attend the banquet (including meal) is $30.00 - please register by June 15 as space is limited.

2008-09 Roger Haug - U-Mary, Rocco Ierino - UMD & Dr. Harry Jasinski - NSU
2009-10 Dale Haagenson - UMD
2010-11 Paul and Barb Halstenson - Augie & Ken Mukomela - SMSU
2011-12 Neal Kalberer - U-Mary
2012-13 Kevin and Karla Anundson - SMSU
2013-14 David and Carol Drown - SMSU & Brice Wilkinson - WSU
2014-15 Dr. Keith Marek - BSU 
2015-16 Marv Bachmeier – UMC
2016-17 Lee Storbeck & Sue Wahl Storbeck – SCSU
2017-18 Randy Bowen – BSU & Gene and Jan Casey -- WSC

For more information on the Bemidji State athletics programs, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).