Wagner named to the 2008 NSIC All-Tournment Team
Sunday, May 11, 2008
WAYNE, Neb. -- Bemidji State University senior Mike Wagner (Plymouth, N.H.) was named to the 2008 NSIC All-Tournament Team, which was announced Sunday afternoon in Wayne, Neb.

Wagner led the Beavers at the plate as he went 2-for-5 (.400) with a double and a run scored in Bemidji State’s two games of the NSIC Tournament. Wagner was 1-for-4 with a double and a run scored in the Beavers 5-2, first round upset of the No. 2 seed Upper Iowa University. He went 1-for-1 in a pinch hit appearance in BSU’s 8-2 loss to No. 3 Concordia-St. Paul.

Mother nature ended BSU’s season as the tournament was shortened to a single elimination tournament due to rain in Wayne, Neb. Since the Beavers dropped their second round game, 8-2 to Concordia-St. Paul Friday, BSU was eliminated. The Golden Bears upended Wayne State 10-6 on Sunday afternoon in the NSIC Championship game earning an automatic bid to the NCAA Regional Tournament.

BSU’s 5-2 victory over Upper Iowa was just the Beavers fourth win in the NSIC tournament all-time and the first in tournament play since the 1997 season.

The Beavers finished the season with a 16-25-1 record overall and a 13-13 mark in the NSIC. BSU’s 16 wins and 13 conference wins was the most wins since the 2002 season when the Beavers were 19-11 overall and 13-3 in conference play.

Bemidji State University, located in Bemidji, Minn., is an NCAA Division II institution and a member of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).

2008 NSIC All-Tournament Team
Catcher - Chris Herbert, Concordia-St. Paul
Designated Hitter - Mike Wagner, Bemidji State
First Base - Marc Manganaro, Wayne State
Second Base - Nick Bidroski, Wayne State
Shortstop - Travis Mather, Upper Iowa
Third Base - Alex Koch, Wayne State
Outfielders (3) - Brenden Furrow, Concordia-St. Paul
Ted Farni, Concordia-St. Paul
Joe Wendte, Wayne State
Pitchers (4) - Nick Schumacher, Wayne State
Jake Schmidt, Concordia-St. Paul
Blake DeVries, Concordia-St. Paul
Adam Schrader, Southwest Minnesota State

Most Valuable Player - Brenden Furrow, Concordia-St. Paul
Most Vauable Pitcher - Jake Schmidt, Concordia-St. Paul