SIU Edwardsville garners 12-3 win over Beavers
Monday, March 10, 2008
CHANDLER, Ariz. (Snidegar Field) -- The Bemidji State University baseball team struggled in the early innings once again as the Beavers gave up six runs in the first two innings dropping their third consecutive game in Arizona, 12-3, in the first ever meeting with the Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Cougars.

SIU Edwardsville jumped out to an early 4-0 lead after one inning of play and cruised to a 12-3 non-conference victory as the Cougars platted two runs in the second, one run in the fifth, three runs in the sixth and two runs in the eighth off 19 hits. The Beavers scattered 10 hits over nine innings platting one run in the second, fourth, and sixth innings.

Casey Allar (Jr., Sartell, Minn.) earned his second start of the 2008 season allowing six runs (six earned) on nine hits seeing his record fall to 0-1 with the loss. Matt Fossen (Fr., Bemidji, Minn.), Brent Vollbrecht (Jr., Morristown, Minn.), Bryan Jamieson (Fr., Maplewood, Minn.), and Justin Brooks (Fr., Thief River Falls, Minn.) each made relief appearances for the Beavers. Fossen pitched the third and fourth innings allowing no runs on two hits, Vollbrecht allowed four runs (four earned) off seven hits in two innings of work, Jamieson gave up just one hit in the seventh inning and Brooks allowed two runs (two earned) on two hits in the eighth inning.

Josh Silvernagel (So., Bismarck, N.D.) was the lone BSU player to garner more than one hit as he went 3-for-5 at the plate. Alex Messick (Fr., Lakeville, Minn.) and J.J. Swalbowski (Jr., Grand Rapids, Minn.) each went 1-for-3 with RBI singles.

With the loss the Beavers fall to 2-5 on the season and 0-1 all-time versus SIU Edwardsville.

The Beavers will continue its six-game road swing in Chandler, Ariz. tomorrow afternoon as the Beavers will play the North Park Vikings for the first time in the programs history. The first pitch is slated for 5:00 p.m. Central Time.

Bemidji State University, located in Bemidji, Minn., is an NCAA Division II institution and a member of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).