Nelson earns ABCA/Rawlings All-Region honor

Nelson earns ABCA/Rawlings All-Region honor
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Nelson earns ABCA/Rawlings All-Region honor

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Bemidji State University senior Tyler Nelson has been named to the American Baseball Coaches Association/Rawlings NCAA Division II All-Central Region Second Team in an announcement of the organization’s 2016 season-ending awards. The organization has identified individual awards and all-region teams from each of its eight regions in a vote of the nation’s head collegiate coaches.

Nelson is the first BSU player to be selected for the award since 2012 when Zach Braun was named to the first team and Logan Kalis earned second team honors and is just the third player to be honored by the the coach’s organization during Head Coach Tim Bellew’s 11 seasons at BSU.

Nelson, a senior from Hayfield, Minn., was selected First Team All-NSIC after starting 49 of Bemidji State’s 50 games in 2016. He capped his Beaver Baseball career by setting the program’s single-season hit record with 89, which ranked second in the NSIC. An 18-game hit streak early in the season now stands as the second-longest in the program’s history. Nelson finished the season with a team-high .434 batting average, ranking eighth in the NSIC and set the BSU career record with a .375 average. He completed his career second in program history with 194 hits and 115 runs scored. In addition to his hits record, Nelson also set the single-season record with six triples, which led the NSIC, and set the BSU career triples mark with nine. In 2016, he led the team in seven offensive categories, drove in 45 RBI and scored 45 runs.

Nelson was one of 11 players hailing from Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference-member programs to be selected for the honor.

The ABCA also announced the University of Minnesota Duluth’s Alex Wojciechowski as the Central Region Position Player of the Year and Sheldon Miks of St. Cloud State University, as its Central Region Pitcher of the Year.

ABCA/Rawlings All-Region first-team selections are nominated for ABCA/Rawlings All-America honors to be announced on Monday, May 30.

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and high school. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007.

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 8,200 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 73rd annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 5-8, 2017 in Anaheim, California.

For more information on the Bemidji State baseball program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeaversBase or @BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).