Third inning doubles lead to 6-3 Beavers win over Gorillas

March 15, 2017123456789RHE
Bemidji State006000000661
Pittsburg State1110000003112
Win: Fransen (1-0) 5.073223
Loss: Fisher (0-2) 3.056002
Boser (BSU) 412010
Clanin (PSU) 413000
Third inning doubles lead to 6-3 Beavers win over Gorillas
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Third inning doubles lead to 6-3 Beavers win over Gorillas

PITTSBURG, Kan. (Al Ortolani Field) -- A six-run third inning gave the Bemidji State University baseball team the edge Wednesday in a 6-3 win against Pittsburg State University at Al Ortolani Field in Pittsburg, Kan. BSU (3-7) recorded five hits, including four doubles, in the third inning to score all six of its runs against PSU (8-15).

The Beavers bats came alive in the third inning after the Gorillas scored one run in each of the first two innings. Senior Ben Boser began a five-hit third inning with a single followed by four doubles, all coming with two outs. Seniors Mason Bellew and Ryan Rumpca each hit RBI doubles while seniors Duane Miller and Logan Riedel each hit two-RBI doubles. Pittsburg State answered Bemidji State’s six-run inning with one in the bottom of the third. The pitching staff allowed five hits and left four runners on base through the remainder of the game.

Senior starting pitcher Ryan Fransen (1-0) earned his first win of the season after throwing 5.0 innings with three strikeouts and three hits and two earned runs allowed. The Beavers relievers held the Gorillas without any runs through the final 4.0 innings of play. Junior Trent McDougall, freshman pitcher Jake Olson and junior Will Thurston combined for 3.0 innings with three hits allowed and two strikeouts. Junior Jack Wittwer earned the first save of his BSU career after closing out the ninth inning.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).