Mavericks shutout Beavers in series finale Sunday

March 21, 20211234567RHE
Bemidji State0000000013
Minnesota State061033X13140
Win: Kline (1-1) 6.0100110
Loss: Arnold (0-2) 1.256623
Bachmann (BSU) 201000
Altermatt (MSU) 434101
Mavericks shutout Beavers in series finale Sunday
Sunday, March 21, 2021
Mavericks shutout Beavers in series finale Sunday

BEMIDJI, Minn. (BSU Baseball Field) -- The Bemidji State University baseball team was shut out in the three-game series finale Sunday afternoon during a 13-0 loss to Minnesota State University, Mankato at BSU Baseball Field. The Beavers fall to 1-7 overall and 0-3 in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference while the Mavericks improve to 6-1 overall and 3-0 in conference play.

Junior pitcher Levi Arnold (0-2) got off to a positive start with three strikeouts against the first seven batters faced but allowed a solo home run in the top of the second to give MSU its first and final lead of the game. MSU went on to score six runs behind two home runs, two doubles and one single in the inning.

Freshman infielder Brooks Bachmann provided BSU’s only hit of the game, a ground ball down the left field line, to start the third inning before being stranded on third base. The Mavericks allowed just one Beavers baserunner the rest of the game while adding one run in the third inning, three in the fifth and three in the sixth.

BSU left three runners on base and went 0-of-5 from the plate with runners in scoring position while MSU went 2-of-13 with runners in scoring position. The Beavers struck out 11 times from the plate and the pitching trio of Arnold, junior Kenny Morris and freshman Hunter Haggenmiller combined to throw six strikeouts.

Bemidji State continues its conference schedule with a mid-week doubleheader beginning at 1:30 p.m. March 24 at Winona State University.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).