Derek Dahlke added as assistant coach for Beaver Baseball

Derek Dahlke added as assistant coach for Beaver Baseball
Wednesday, August 25, 2021
Derek Dahlke added as assistant coach for Beaver Baseball

BEMIDJI, Minn. -- Bemidji State University baseball interim head coach Matt Ellinghuysen announced that Derek Dahlke has been hired as the assistant coach for the Beavers.

Dahlke joins BSU as the pitching coach after spending the past two seasons at Southwest Minnesota State University as a graduate assistant coach. The Mustangs totaled 18 wins over Dahlke’s two seasons, including the COVID-19 shortened season in 2020. SMSU ranked third in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference with 311 hits allowed and fifth with 136 walks allowed. The Mustangs pitching staff held an ERA of 6.44 and an opposing batting average of .292.

Prior to joining SMSU, Dahlke completed a five-year playing career at Augustana University. As a right-handed pitcher for the Vikings, Dahlke appeared in 60 career games with 76 2/3 innings pitched and a 4.34 ERA from 2014-19. In 2018, he finished 3-0 with two saves in 24 appearances and was a member of Augustana’s NCAA national championship team. Dahlke also collected nine base hits in his career including a pair of home runs.

Dahlke earned a bachelor’s degree in physical education and health education, and K-12 education from Augustana in 2019. He then completed his master’s degree in coaching at Southwest Minnesota State in 2021.

Dahlke is a member of the American Baseball Coaches Association and received the Foundations of Pitching Coaches Certification from Driveline Baseball.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).