NSIC names 42 Beavers to 2020 All-Academic Team

NSIC names 42 Beavers to 2020 All-Academic Team
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
NSIC names 42 Beavers to 2020 All-Academic Team

BEMIDJI, Minn. -- The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference announced Wednesday that 42 Bemidji State University student-athletes were selected to the 2020 Fall NSIC All-Academic Team, including 22 named to the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence.

In all, 775 student-athletes from across the 16-team NSIC were recognized for success in the classroom, with 331 earning the prestigious NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence honor.

Bemidji State’s fall programs were led by its soccer team with 20 members recognized for their academic accomplishment. BSU also saw 10 student-athletes from football, seven from volleyball and five from cross country earn all-academic laurels.

Sports considered for the Fall NSIC All-Academic Team are: men’s and women’s cross country, football, soccer, and volleyball.

To be eligible for the NSIC All-Academic Team, student-athletes must maintain a grade-point average of 3.20 or better. To be eligible for the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence, a student-athlete must have a 3.60 cumulative GPA or higher. For both awards, student-athletes must be a member of a varsity traveling team, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at her/his institution, and must have completed at least one full academic year at that institution.

Cross Country (5/3*)
* Carissa Decko (Sr., Deer River, Minn.)
* Ryne Prigge (Jr., Ely, Minn.)
* Emma Realing (So., Casper, Wyo.)
Lily Johnson (So., Monticello, Minn.)
Katelyn Wagner (Jr., Crookston, Minn.)

Football (10/2*)
* Brandon Frankfurth (Jr., Anoka, Minn.)
* Eli Solberg (Jr., Rogers, Minn.)
Bryce Duffy (Jr., DeForest, Wis.)
Jake Gannon (So., Franklin, Wis.)
Makaio Harn (So., New London, Wis.)
James Huwe (Jr., Detroit Lakes, Minn.)
Cole Sorby (Jr., Thompson, N.D.)
Shawn Steffan (Jr., Dickinson, N.D.)
Kaleb Stevens (So., Proctor, Minn.)
Spencer Wehr (So., Cloquet, Minn.)

Soccer (20/14*)
* Emily Baurr (So., Blaine, Minn.)
* Erin Becker (Jr., Andover, Minn.)
* Maggie Cade (So., Lakeville, Minn.)
* Georgiana Harber (So., Villa Park, Calif.)
* Megan Majewski (Jr., Burlington, Ill.)
* Kennedy Michel (So., Logan, Utah)
* Isabelle Morin (Jr., Bemidji, Minn.)
* Halle Peterson (So., Stillwater, Minn.)
* Emma Riedi (Sr., Green Bay, Wis.)
* Allyson Smith (Jr., Brainerd, Minn.)
* Carolyn Smith (Sr., Grand Forks, N.D.)
* Alyse Stone (So., Bemidji, Minn.)
* Alyssa Stumbaugh (So., Gillette, Wyo.)
* Sara Wendt (Jr., Arden Hills, Mich.)
Ryin Carreras (Jr., Riverside, Calif.)
Megan Dahl (Jr., Rosemount, Minn.)
Maggie Hallock (Sr., Cottage Grove, Minn.)
Lexi Larson (So., Blaine, Minn.)
Emma Mortensen (Jr., Apple Valley, Minn.)
Kayla Nanez (So., Gilroy, Calif.)

Volleyball (7/3*)
* Meeghen Dahlager (So., Granite Falls, Minn.)
* Taylor Nier (Sr., Hatley, Wis.)
* Rylee Pompa (So., Elgin, Ill.)
Annie Hopp (So., Sheboygan, Wis.)
Taylor Kot (Jr., Oconomowoc, Wis.)
Maddie Mackinac (Jr., Rosemount, Minn.)
Haley Stolt (Jr., Prior Lake, Minn.)

* Denotes NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence Honors

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit BSUBeavers.com, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers).

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).